We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deband Tel 'Lovely Friendly Hotel'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Deband Tel 'Lovely Friendly Hotel'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Adam and Anita made us very welcome , and were happy to sign post us to the best places to to visit and eat. Not that we needed much after a full English breakfast, which was cooked to perfection. Our room was larger than normal, very clean and lovely comfortable bed.It had all the expected furniture and tea/coffee making facilities with added bonus of a small fridge. Well appointed location , easy walking distance of the town centre and sea front..

Room Tip: rooms at the back have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for your review!

Anita's breakfasts tend to stop people from needing lunch, but her motto is "no one leaves hungry!!"

See you again I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    74
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
86
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very large airy room, spotlessly clean and with a very comfy bed. When they say a full breakfast they are not kidding, fantastic selection and plenty of it. Great location, an easy walk into the town centre and sea front and plenty of places to visit around and about. Adam and Anita very good hosts - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for your kind review, it was nice chatting to you in the bar in the evenings! I look forward to welcoming you to Torquay again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed @ the cimon for 2 nights in december, The owners had just returned from a holiday over the christmas peroid so the building felt cool when we first got there however Adam pointed this out and soon had the heating on full we were given a small heater for our room which helped warm it up, The cimon is a nice place to stay food/bar area very good my only negative would be the car parking @ the back of the building is not lit up and is very dark if u were on ur own parking ur car, I am sure this is somthing the owners will rectify in time. As u enter the cimon there is a large area which i feel could be made into a lovely tv lounge with a nice fire as this is the focal point when u arrive and would make a homely appearance all in all a very nice place to stay Lesley / Gary

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reecemac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Regarding the lighting in the car park - we have outside lighting but it was wiped out by the storms! It's fixed now, and we'll soon be installing extra lights with movement sensors in the car park that will keep it lit all night.

The seating area you refer to is next to some of our guest rooms. It's ideal for a meeting point during the day or to browse the leaflets about local attractions, but we have a nice cosy bar just downstairs with a TV etc that guest are welcome to use throughout the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Service from Manager and staff all very friendly and helpful. On booking in we were given a map of the area and pointers on where to eat etc. We booked a compact double which was perfectly adequate for the 2 nights we were there with a double bed, wardrobe, dressing table, chest of drawers and en-suite shower room - excellent value and very clean/tidy. Free wi-fi in all areas of the hotel. Bar and restaurant area very well kept, clean and well stocked. Evening food/bar snacks made to order. Location great - just a short walk down the hill to the town centre, ample parking for guests. Outside patio and swimming pool area very well kept and maintained - would be great in summer. Breakfast plentiful with bread, toasts, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, full english available as well as omelettes or smaller cooked items - just ask!

Room Tip: Compact double does what it says on the tin but still enough room for 2 people and plenty of wardrob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smugangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for your nice comments, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you'll return in the spring when we open the pool! We open it up from 1st May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our second visit as a family to the Cimon, which we used as a base to attend a conference. This time we came with a whole group of friends so filled the place, except for one room. Adam gave us a warm welcome back and we could make the most of our first evening together by getting in a take away, thus catering for all the different arrival times. This really made the weekend for us. On our previous visit we had walked into town for a meal. For a single family this was easy due to the Cimon`s convenient location, but with such a large party this time we really appreciated eating all together in the bar and enjoying the extra beer Adam had laid on for us.We kept him up very late on our second night but he was still smiling at breakfast next morning. Our room was very clean and fully supplied with refreshments. The hotel has lots of character and we can fully recommend it as being truly family friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for the nice comments, it was nice to see you and your family again. Your entire group was a pleasure to host, definitely one of the more entertaining groups we've had this year!

I'm pleased you enjoyed the ale too - I'm going to make that a more regular feature behind the bar from now on!

See you next year I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Cimon is a really great place to stay in Torquay, easy accessibility to town and seafront. Every attention to detail is there, lovely fluffy and large bath sheets. clean , bright and well decorated rooms. PLENTY of teabags and milks, coffee, chocolate and little packets of biscuits on BOTH days of our stay. Lovely large mugs on the refreshment tray, a bonus indeed! Little chocolates in the room on arrival. Large double bed,6 foot and so comfortable. Great breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, variety of juices and a great breakfast menu, every taste catered for. The full English was what it said on the tin VERY full, brilliant As I said attention to detail ! Well done the Cimon would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for the great review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay! We do all we can to ensure our guests have a nice time, it's always nice to know it's appreciated :)

See you again I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at The Cimon with two friends in one of the triple rooms in October 2013, the room was clean and spacious with all the facilities we needed.

Adam was a great host, with some very amusing stories. We enjoyed spending time in the bar, playing pool and chatting to the other guests. Adam made sure all his guests enjoyed their stay, including marriage counselling which I think was a first and I'm sure is now the latest amusing tale he has to tell.

The hotel is in a great location close to Torquay centre would definitely recommend as an excellent place to stay. The harbour is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for the review, it was quite a funny night! I've added marriage counselling to my CV now :)

See you next season I hope, assuming Torquay don't get relegated! Please book direct next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing