We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

welcoming, friendly
Homely and warm
thought of every little detail for comfort of the guest.
Excellent breakfast ,vegetarians catered for.
Spacious room. Tastefully decorated
We recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zufilka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks, it was nice to meet you all.

We do our best to cater for vegetarians, vegans, gluten and lactose intolerant, you name it... :)

See you again I hope - please book direct in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    74
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
86
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit since the hotel was taken over by new owners Adam & Anita . We booked three nights from 7th / 10th February 2014 with friends , two rooms . We had a very warm welcome from Adam , the hotel has changed , For the better , they've made much needed improvements . The rooms are very clean well kept and beds very comfortable , breakfast was well cooked ( no crease on plate 5/5 ) , and a good selection for other breakfast items . Hotel nice and warm,as where the rooms, and now free wi-fi in every part of hotel , bar area good , plus bar well stocked even cocktails now . Over all the hotel is now 8 times better then before , so now it's 10/10 , well done for your hard work it's been worth it for your guest's . As for recommending this hotel YES , will we return yes , already told our famliy whom stayed before and friends , too return . Kev ginny jupp ,Eddie Julie ball .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I'm pleased you like the improvements we've made!

We've been here 2 years now, not really new owners any more, but we're still constantly looking at where we can make a difference.

See you soon I hope - the pool will be open for Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very friendly made us feel relaxed and able to ask for anything. Recommended places to eat. Lovely clean fresh room spacious with en-suite. Fantastic breakfast well catered for vegetarians. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for review, see you again I hope - maybe we'll earn 5/5 next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Booked one night for a party of six.We all had clean, comfortable rooms.Our host was really friendly and helpful, and the men enjoyed the bar area with the rugby on TV whilst we ladies went shopping, the local football match having been cancelled.Large accessible car park.Outdoor swimming pool must be great in summer months and children well catered for with highchairs available and a playroom.Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and a very nicely cooked full English.Book direct with the hotel for a great deal.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the owner, hes very helpful.All the rooms we had had showers no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsETaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for the review! You're right, it's always best to book direct for the best deal :)

We do actually have one room with a bath as well as a shower - it's best to phone us if you'd specifically like this one, we do our best to meet any special requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend,adam made us feel at home.
Great room,view and breakfast was faultless.
Will be going again
Good location for town centre and harbour.
Rooms had everything you needed and comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau-Steph14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed at the Cimon Hotel over the New Year great couple who run the hotel , can't do enough for you. Very clean and contemporary bedrooms, great man sized English breakfast cooked to perfection, and great bar area downstairs, just like a regular pub. Near to the town centre, bus stop near by, plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Has a great outdoor swimming pool if you are going in the summer , plenty of loungers. Highly recommend The Cimon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for the great review. It was nice to have quite a few people in the bar for New Year, I'm pleased you enjoyed it! See you again soon I hope - book direct for the best deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Warm and welome when you walk in the door, with beautiful furnished rooms and a great atmosphere throughout your stay. The English breakfast just wat you needed for an ative day of exploring the beautiful coast line of Torquay. We will be back that's a promise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSES2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks for your kind review, I hope we get the chance to welcome you again - hopefully we'll earn 5/5 from you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing