We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Torquay”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked a last minute weekend away in Torquay for myself and my 3 year old daughter, and was absolutely delighted with our stay at The Cimon. Lovely, friendly owners who were always available to help with any small thing. Fabulous swimming pool which was clean and heated - pool towels and sunbeds readily available. Nice breakfast, lots of little spaces in which to relax including a bar with a pool table. Great location, near the beach, harbour, shops and restaurants, and several tourist attractions, such as Living Coasts. I would definitely recommend this little gem of a hotel (or Hometel as my daughter nicknamed it). We'll be booking again this summer I expect.

Room Tip: Room number 14 does not have a bath and is on the top floor (a few floors away from the breakfast ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks! I'm pleased you and Florence had a nice time! We have one room with a bath so if you call us next time we can book you in that one :) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fantastic time. Kids loved the free pool nd the swimming pool. My son learnt to play chest and the one day it did rain we had fab family day in in bar playing board games! Owners friendly, entertaining and nothing too much trouble. X

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brainfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your kind review, I look forward to seeing you again - please book direct next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An excellent hotel & ideal for young families.
We were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived. Our family room was superb & both boys enjoyed having their bedroom partitioned from the living area & main bedroom. My six year old son said this was the best hotel he had stayed at & didn't want to come home.
Breakfast is made to order - delicious with plenty of options to choose from.
Sadly we didn't get an opportunity to use the pool which looked inviting.
Walking to Torquay sea front didn't take too long with the hotel in an ideal location away from the main seafront activities.
My sons have already bullied me into booking again.

Thanks for a great & hospitable stay.

Steve McDonald - Gloucester

Room Tip: Ideal for young families looking for peace quiet with hospitable options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed yourselves - I hope your six year old gets his own way! It's a shame you didn't get to use the pool after all!

Please remember to book direct for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from another fantastic family holiday at The Cimon. A Great room and we all enjoyed using the swimming pool in the glorious April sunshine! Great hospitality once again - thanks Adam and Anita. Looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks, it's always nice when guests return, it's the ultimate compliment!

See you again I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Every aspect of our visit was wonderful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was parking and a playroom for children. A great selection for a tasty breakfast. Good advice for activities in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MelissaAK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for your kind comments, I hope you had a good drive back all the way to Germany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

10 minutes walk from the seafront. Nice and quiet. Small room but very well laid out. Excellent welcome and hospitality. Great beer and lovely breakfast (thanks Adam's wife).
Thanks Adam. Enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for the kind review, I'm pleased you enjoyed the Bays bitter! I hope you come again so I can continue your son's pool education :)

Please remember to book direct next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we had a lovely stay at the Cimon. We were greeted by Adam who made our stay warm and friendly.
The room was lovely and comfortable and catered for all our needs. excellent parking facilities. excellent food and a short walk away from the town and seafront.

what we also liked was that although they don't provide evening meals they allow you to order a take away and will provide you with the crockery and cutlery.
Nothing was too much trouble Adam was around at breakfast time for any questions or concerns if needed. we were extremely happy and would recommend the hotel Cimon for your stay in Torquay. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for the nice review, it was a pleasure chatting to you in the bar and at breakfast! See you soon I hope - please remember to book direct next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing