We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
CHESTER
1 review
“Top Hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at the Cimon for a weekend for an Army Reunion. Could not fault it, Staff great food great, Very well Managed. Would recommend it without reservation. Room was quite small, but nothing can be done about that. Only a short walk into town. Thanks Adam and Family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EARLITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for writing the review. We really enjoyed having you all here and hope we will see you again in the near future. We will be happy to host your next reunion as well! All the best from everyone here at the Cimon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    76
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
197
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights ,very clean and comfortable ,excellent breakfast with so much choice, even a little bar to relax with a drink and although they don't do evening meals it was easy to order a takeaway and eat it in the bar , our hosts even supplied us with plates and cutlery .Outside is a heated swimming pool and lovely sun terrace mWould definitely stay again if needing to book in Torquay, very near to the seafront so can walk down but as it's on the hill you may need a lift back up or use a taxi as we did.
Would certainly book this hotel should we go to Torquay again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad you had a great time and we do hope to see you again when you are in the area. All the best from everyone at The Cimon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stopped here for a long weekend we booked last minute the overall stay was very pleasurable. We could not have asked for any more Adam was very friendly and approachable at all times breakfast was excellent they catered for all likes. The location was brilliant just 5 minute walk down to the harbour and shops and bars and restaurants. We would definitely recommend. Had a lovely time and would go back again. David and Lorna Hughes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughescouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you David and Lorna to take the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you had a great weekend and hope to see you back soon! All the best from everyone at The Cimon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a few nights in what seemed a very good hotel according to trip advisor.no way as good as we thought it would be.very disappointed.room was not very clean.supposed to have been a supreme room.bar not very welcoming and closed far too early.grounds a bit unkempt.breakfast was just about ok.really annoyed as we could have stayed in a far far better place for not much more.would not recommend.i honestly think the owners need to put more effort into it.bet they wont be there for much longer,shame as could be a little gem as not far to walk to town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank deborah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Deborah,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I guess you stayed in one of our superior rooms. It would have been good if you had pointed out that you felt your room was not clean as I would have send up staff to sort it out. With 14 bedrooms we do rely on staff to get it right but if they do not get it right I would rather have the chance to rectify it whilst people are still here. We are in a building from the 1860s and our bar is like a little pub and most people find it cosy. We are always open till at least 10pm and if people are still in the bar we keep it open longer. I have hired a new gardener and sometimes it is difficult to keep it all tidy with the changing weather. As owners we give 100% and hope to make everyone welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely hotel very friendly staff from the time of arrival to leaving; nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable room very relaxing and needed sleep.

Ideal location with a short walk into the town or harbor. Belly busting breakfast, with a large variety of choice from fresh fruit, cereal, toast, full English.

An extra bonus was the heated swimming pool in well kept grounds.Well worth every penny, value for money will definitely come again.

Gaynor P

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to stay with us again in the future. From all at The Cimon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here April last year as a couple (I'm abit late with the review, but felt this place deserved a good review!) and would highly recommend it. Owner was friendly and welcoming and the room was clean with tea and coffee facillities and a lovely view of the pool (and sea!). My only (slight) gripe with this place would be that the room we occupied had a tiny bathroom that was right next to the bed so it was abit of a squeeze to get in and out and abit awkward when using the toilet. However, breakfast was great with good variety for the continental option, lots tea and coffee available and a very tasty and varied cooked option. The Cimon was outwith the town centre so it was nice and quiet at night but still within a short distance to all local amenties.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifestarts29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry to hear the bathroom was difficult for you to use due to the space, some of our bedrooms do have larger bathrooms. If you do come to visit us again in the future please call to ask about the bathroom/bedroom sizes and we will be sure to put you in a room more suited.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a great weekend with my group of friends. This was our second visit to The Cimon and no doubt we will be back. The rooms comfortable and there is tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Breakfast was excellent, as was the heated swimming pool at the end of the day.
I Would definitely recommend The Cimon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Manager at The Cimon, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at The Cimon.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing