We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely torquay”
Review of Melba House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melba House Hotel
Ranked #101 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely torquay”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A warm welcome from Vicki and Steve await you at Melba House. Although new to the business they are doing a professional job-we felt very much "at home" with a very comfortable room and a lovely comfy bed. As you would expect a great breakfast with plenty of choice. We wish them all the best in their first full season as hosts in this little gem in Torquay.

Room Tip: room 2 overlooks the green and gets afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 177margaretj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 2 nights here at the end of February, when we attended a conference at the nearby Riviera centre. We wanted a B&B within walking distance of the venue and had pre-booked a different establishment via an agency several weeks in advance. However, when we arrived there, we found that it was actually closed for the winter season, but the proprietor was incredibly kind and phoned one of her colleagues who ran a B&B just a short distance away. We were accommodated at short notice at Melba House. Vicki and Steve are really friendly and gave us such a warm welcome. They later told us that they had only taken over the business 6 months ago and that they were planning to redo much of the decoration to put their stamp on it. The room was comfortable and quiet, but the highlight for us was the excellent breakfast, which used great quality produce, was cooked to order and beautifully presented. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_from_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a really lovely break here, tea and cake on arrival, warm and friendly owners, nice, clean room - even a bit of sunshine. Been to Torquay a few times now and this B&B's location is great for everything - beach, station, Riviera Centre etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The house was new and warm, with comfortable beds and nice British breakfast. Walls are decorated with beautiful paintings. The owners really concern about the quality of their service and they are very kind and easy-going. The location is close to the station and Torre Abbey, and there is an extremely nice restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3, which is excellent. However, I did not know the situation of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A very enjoyable 6 night stay. I was impressed by the proprietor's willingness to go that extra mile in order to obtain the right foods for my fat-free diet. Very conscientious of my 'light' breakfast, fruit juice and fat-free yogurt was provided as well as plenty of wholemeal toast and preserves etc. My room was very comfortable with a view over the sports field. there was plenty of hot water from a superb shower. Hopefully my next stay will be with my partner as this is a very recommendable B and B.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we stayed here two nights, its was a very friendly enviroment, the owners were very helpfull and made us feel welcome and comfortable. we throughly enjoyed our stay and would reccomed to family and friends and will look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#14 of 149 in Torquay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#49 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#104 of 149 in Torquay
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Hotel

Property: Melba House Hotel
Address: 62 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melba House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, welcoming non smoking bed and breakfast hotel with private car park and all rooms en-suite. We are one of the best located hotels in Torquay, only 350 yards from sea front, and 250 yards from the Riviera conference centre. The railway station is about 10 minutes level walk away. The hotel overlooks a park, where cricket and rugby can be watched from our terrace. The harbour and town are also just a short stroll away, where you will find the many restaurants and bars Torquay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing