We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashwood Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ranked #60 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I recently stayed here with my husband and 7 year old daughter. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. The owners Clare and Stuart were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.

It is about a 15 minute downhill walk to the beach, where you can walk along the seafront towards Torquay harbour, which is very pleasant.

Only one tip i have, is if you are a car driver make sure you have plenty of change for the carparks as everything is pay and display!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed here for five nights recently and had a truly great time . This is a family run hotel and Clare and Stuart made me feel really welcome. The room I stayed in was excellent , nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast superb-nothing was too much trouble and Clare made a great effort to ensure everyone was happy. The no12 bus stops right outside the hotel ,takes only 5mins to get down to the town centre and runs every 12 mins until almost midnight. The seafront is only 15mins walk and the Bull and Bush only 5mins provides excellent food and a lively friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel as friendly, relaxing and exceptional value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russellal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Ashwood Grange Hotel for 2 nights (07/08/09 – 09/08/09). The Hotel is located approximately 20 minutes walk from the Town centre and Quay. It’s worth bearing in mind that the hotel (like many others in Torquay) is situated on a hill and anyone with walking difficulties may struggle with the incline.

The hotel itself is very clean and has a nice homely feel to it. Clare and Stuart are extremely friendly and genuine people who ensured we were well looked after. Our room faced the garden to the rear of the building and had an exceptional view (Room 10). The bed was comfortable and the en-suite was well maintained and modern.

The breakfasts were very good in terms of quality and choice and Clare simply can’t do enough to ensure you have the perfect start to the day. There is a large selection of tourist information available in the lobby and both Clare and Stuart are more than helpful in assisting you with top tips with regards planning out your vacation.

There is a children’s play area to the rear that is secure and a small balcony which is an ideal sun trap. My only gripe is the lack of a licensed bar, but with several pubs located nearby it wasn’t a major issue.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

Had a short break at this typical Torbay B & B.

Advantages:

• Keen prices
• Friendly and helpful owners
• Located 10 yards from bus stop with very frequent services and 250 yards from Torre railway station.
• Own car park (but on a steep slope – see photo – may be a challenge for a few drivers)
• Substantial breakfast
• Clean – well looked after
• Free Wi-fi

Disadvantages;

• On main road – may be noisy for some at night
• 20 minutes walk from centre of Torquay and beach
• Lack of space in my particular room (see picture). My room also had separate shower and WC - across the corridor. Think this is the only room without ensuite
• Lounge seemed to have faulty lights – difficult to use at night


Conclusion

I’d happily return – but this may not be top of some peoples list.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

Stayed 7 nights at the Ashwood Grange Hotel in Torquay. My experience was wonderful. Our hosts, Stuart and (especially) Clare were warm, friendly, and made us feel right at home. The hotel is lovely with a wonderful view of the beautiful city of Torquay. Stayed in the Family Suite, which consists of one room with two twin beds and a sink, and one room with a double bed and attached bathroom. The location is convenient and easy to find. The full English breakfast is delicious and filling. I can't give this place enough praise - I really enjoyed myself.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

Stayed for two nights at Ashwood Grange, Chris and Sarah were perfect hosts, could not have been more helpful. They kindly upgraded us to a family room with a great view. The room was spotless and a good size. The breakfast was exellent. Value for money this hotel is one of the best in town.
Best meal in town, The sea Spray, along the harbour.
Worst meal in town ( and I mean truly bad ) The red Snapper in the main high street, stay away!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertTattlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2007

A wonderful experience. The hosts were friendly, welcoming everything you could ask for. The rooms are a delight to stay in. With extra blankets, big soft pillows, not those horrid thin things you get in some hotels, a good nights sleep should be guaranteed. And the breakfast is just hits the spot, and such a variety of things too. A truly lovely place. And very very reasonably priced too. We will be going back again and again.Andy and Lyn

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HOMEANDROAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Ashurst Lodge
Ashurst Lodge
#67 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowndale Hotel
Crowndale Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Grange Hotel

Property: Ashwood Grange Hotel
Address: 18 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ashwood Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Grange Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing