We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean & Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
SW UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean & Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We checked out today after 2 nights in this lovely B&B. the owners really cannot do enough for you. We were in room 2, the shower was very hot! Probably my lack of experience with using strange showers though.

Bed very comfortable, tea/coffee & cookies in our room. Breakfast was a strightforward affair, your room number is your table number (excellent idea) Staff super friendly, at times too friendly "is everything ok" was said over and over again, it seemed no amount of positive reactions was good enough lol but that's better than owners who don't take the time to ask, right?

Breakfast was great, so much cereals and juices, proper mushrooms, eggs perfect, toast in triangles (my favourite) Bacon and sausage were good quality and you were very well looked after.

We had to wait in the guest room for a while after we checked out, we were given the wi-fi code so we could get online.

There are no negatives with this B&B and I would recommend to anyone, families and couples. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaMG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

hi, i stayed here in the summer hoidays with my dad and had a really great time. We got a really nice warm welcoming and the beakfast on the morning was spot on!The room was so ncie and comfy as well. Overall i had a fantastic stay at the ashwood grange and hope to see you again sometime.
alisar and steve :)

Room Tip: not sure :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a lovely B&B situated near Torre Train Station just outside of Torquay, the First impressions of the B&B were that it was pretty and of a good standard. We were greeted by Stuart and Clare showed us to our room, we were a couple travelling with 8 month old son and 2 year old nephew they allocated us a fantastic family room which was a double room with en suite and a single room with wash basin with an internal door – excellent value for money!
Clare gave us plenty of local information and advised us how to get to Torquay on the bus which proved so valuable to us! Much better than parking in Torquay and far cheaper!
The breakfast was another value for money point; there was a choice of cereals and yoghurts fresh juices and then a full English cooked breakfast plus toast – nothing was too much trouble for them
The beds were comfortable the shower was fantastic the travel cot they provided was immaculate and the tv worked brilliantly
the rooms were serviced which we did not realise and having rushed to get kids ready before breakfast so we could head straight out for the boat trip we had booked we did not get chance to tidy up after the morning showers and finding things to wear so we were embarressed when we returned to find our room immaculate and tidy (thank you Clare and Stuart sorry about the mess :-) )
Overall a fantastic B&B I will definitely be back and we shall be recommending to everyone – Thank you for a fab stay Lucie, James plus Joshua and Cameron

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a great value guest house, in a good location. The rooms are spotless and a really good size compared to a boring premier inn type franchise. We were made to feel really comfortable, even though our three year old caused mayhem most of the time we were there. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of options, again even for our young child. I'd recommend staying here without hesitation, truely great value for money, I wonder if a star has fallen off the sign? It should be five!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Met by Stuart on arrival and went through with us thoroughly about the hotel and things to do and places to eat in Torquay.
The breakfast was superb with Clare offering regular top ups of tea/coffee and toast.
All in all a great 2 night stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelmomark0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

After reading previous reviews, we booked this wonderful little B&B just a 20 minute walk from Torquay harbour and town. The low price was a real draw, and proved to be excellent value.
On arrival, we were greeted by Stuart who instantly made us feel welcome. Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs and included everything that you would expect including complimentary toilletries and biscuits. The bathroom was clean and the shower didn't go hot and cold like in some hotels I've stayed in! The only downsides on the room was that the lighting was not bright enough for my personal taste; however the bathroom lighting was great for doing my make up! Also, the decor was a little old-fashioned but it was by no means shabby or ill-kept. This did bother us at all. The room and bed linen was spotlessly clean.
As for breakfast, this was also a most enjoyable experience. Claire was the perfect host and she ensured that we had everything we could possibly want.We believe that she genuinely cared for the enjoyment of her guests; it wasn't just a show.The cooked breakfast was of an excellent standard.
Just a few tips whilst staying in Torquay- it is rather hilly and it is quite a strenuous walk from the town/harbour back to the hotel. However, taxis are cheap and reliable and there is a bus service right outside on the main road. If you want to walk off the excellent food in Torquay, however then this is fine!
I would highly recommend this guesthouse on every level. What it lacks in style it definitely makes up for in good old-fashioned hospitality and value. We will return- if only to talk to Claire about our shared love of cats!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miandma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights in June 2012. Being a Regional Hospitality Assessor I deal with hotels on a daily basis and witness varying standards across the board. We had a brilliant stay with this family who couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much. The rooms were very clean and supplied the usual towels, toiletries, tea, coffee, hair dryer, en suite and full english breakfast. breakfast was super, everything was fresh and cooked really well. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break to re-charge their batteries.

Thankyou both.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisoncornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Grange Hotel

Property: Ashwood Grange Hotel
Address: 18 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Torquay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashwood Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Grange Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing