We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Back home now after a lovely four night stay at the Ashwood Grange - we booked through Bookings.com and chose here after looking at the other very favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. Clare and Stuart are indeed the perfect mine hosts and very organised - we rolled up early on Monday afternoon thinking we would be too early to check in; however we were met by Stuart who straight away gave us a warm welcome and offered to take our bags in and said it was no trouble at all that we were early. Breakfast (as several other folks have already said on here) was all freshly prepared and nothing was any trouble.

There is plenty of local information booklets & guides available in the lobby but Clare & Stuart themselves are a mine of information - saved a trip to the tourist office from the outset! The bus stops outside the hotel were extremely useful and as we had our 1-year old daughter with us it was a huge plus in that you could take your pushchair on board. The 'Hop 12' service runs every 10 mins down into Torquay town centre and then back up towards Newton Abbot with the same frequency and this service continues until quite late at night (although they run every 20 mins then). That said, the seafront and Riviera Centre are only about a 15 min walk away anyway.

On a more personal note, our daughter celebrated her 1st birthday this week, and when we went for breakfast that particular morning there was a birthday card on the table from Clare & Stuart - that was a lovely gesture and definitely not one you would get in any chain hotel!

Would certainly recommend to anyone although (due to the geography of Torquay!) you may find it easier to park and load/unload your car across the road from the hotel as the car park is on a fairly steep slope.

Room Tip: We had Room 10 which was roomy enough to accommodate a large cot (provided free of charge) and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarney79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Clare and Stuart are the perfect hosts - nothing seemed to be too much trouble - definitely not modeled on Fawlty towers ! Rooms are impeccably clean & beds comfortable - it was more like a hotel room than a B&B. Breakfast is comprehensive efficient and a great start to your day. A bus stop is just a few houses away and shops are just a short walk.

Room Tip: Our room through bookings.com was perfect - no complaints, cant compare other rooms. Guest lounge wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed here in a family room with 2 children aged 1 and 2 this was summer last year amazing service room was amazing for the price had seperate area for the children we were advised not all family rooms were like this - breakfast was done to order apart from cerial and juice yoghurts and fruit - ghot fresh and nothing was too much trouble
Location is great we caught the bus to town it took approx 5-10 minutes
Both Claire and Stuart are amazing hosts and one day i will return

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This really is a home from home! Stuart and Clare make you really welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The place is spotlessly clean and the rooms beautifully decorated and comfortable.The breakfasts are well cooked and plentiful. I shall be going to Torquay again so I can stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked here for 9 days for a business trip. They put me in room 1 right next to the busy road. Traffic was very noisy I couldn't sleep at all. The next day I asked to switch room but they said none available, so I had no choice but to find another hotel. They said NO REFUND for ALL 9 DAYS, I was very surprised but talked with them nicely about other options. Finally they said one family room was available (I knew it because on their website it showed vacancy) they showed me the room but said it was only available for a few days, "AFTER THAT YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN" were their exact words. Horrible customer service. Laughable anywhere in the world. I ended up getting half of my money back and moved to another hotel. My colleague booked the same hotel and had to leave one day early. This couple wouldn't give her the money back either. GREEDY and UNPROFESSIONAL when it comes to financial transactions.

Room Tip: Room #1 was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCLNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You could not have asked for a warmer welcome and this friendliness and courtesy carried on throughout my three night stay. Room was very clean and tidy and comfortable. I would wholeheartedly agree with other travellers that the breakfast is superb.

Stuart and Clare were really attentive hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazza2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a weekend break for the last seven years and its always bang on . It's clean very well equipped and the owners are really friendly and helpfully .i highly recommend this place the owners deserve all credit they are highly professional and bloody hard workers .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Grange Hotel

Property: Ashwood Grange Hotel
Address: 18 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Torquay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashwood Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood Grange Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing