We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We knew the hotel's position from previous resort visits. The standard of food and service in the restaurant is very good and that is probably the hotel's strongest point. Reception staff vary and bedroom size and quality also vary according to position and tariff. Relaxing edwardian charm is how I would sum up the lounges. The entertainment is a bit past its sell by date but in keeping with the taste of the guests. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and look at the room before committing. Some have steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faircommentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Have just returned from a weekend break and stayed at this lovely hotel . Bathroom a little small and could do with an upgrade but the bedroom made up for it , it was spacious with lovely views over the garden at one side and views over to the sea on the other side . Food excellent staff fantastic a real find. The views are amazing and the gardens are beautiful with a stunning pool which is kept to a very high standard. This hotel isn't a chic hotel but it has a charm all to itself and is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Mixed experience.
First the good stuff:
Highlight of this place is the outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. We were lucky to be there on a nice hot late summer day, and spend a wonderful few hours lunching, drinking and swimming by the pool.
The staff are absolutely superb, if a bit bizarre, with all the men dressed in full penguin style morning suits. I kept expecting batman to leap from the balcony.
The Polish bar lady was brilliant, she mixed up some great Pimms with all the trimmings - perfect.
The chamber maid was incredibly helpful and smiley.
The restaurant is very ornate and grandiose, with huge chandeliers and attentive service. The highlight here is the dessert selection. They're blessed to have their own pastry chef and ALL deserts are made fresh in the kitchen. (No Sara Lee processed rubbish here). The desserts are absolutely superb. Not exactly modern, but really really tasty.

And the not so good:
Rooms were very hot and poorly ventilated, and many of the fittings were a bit decrepit. In fact the first room we saw was so shoddy we changed it.
The hotel is on a busy main road. There are regular weddings on at weekends, and these can get a bit noisy, with the usual smoking crowd of cacklers spilling out into the gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Recently stayed at Livermead House hotel. The bad points are

1. The room is way too small and cramped.
2. The decor is dated and has probably not been updated for a number of years.
3. We we were given a twin and when we requested a double, we were told they dont have another room but they will sort it. We sorted it ourselves by putting the two twins together. But they changed it anyway and the double had two different size beds which was slanting one side. This needed to be changed again back to what we had done it to ourselves.
4. beware of the spiders on the ceiling...
5. The manager was busy attending a wedding and wasn't really interested in hearing our complaints.

The good points are

1. It has main road location and good views from the bar. Thats about it!

breakfast was OK nothing great. No vegetarian options. you had to get up from your table and approach the staff to get their attention.
take care while ordering the teacakes (plural) for an afternoon tea as you will be served one teacake sliced in half!!!

Overall its way too pricey at £119/room for 2 people. I would expect much more at that price. However the target market for this hotel seem to be to older people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piyu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived pretty late in Torquay and were forced to look for an accommodation for two nights. Due to the fact that it was the Bankholiday weekend we really were glad and appreciated the help of the staff at one of the Rew hotels. After two calls they mentioned that there is one vacancy at the Livermead House.

From the first moment on we noted that this is an owner managed hotel, and only later we discovered that it was the owner who carried our luggage to the room. Despite we arrived pretty late we were able to enjoy the dinner at the hotel. Dinner as well as the breakfast were excellent, the hot choices for breakfast are cooked on order.

The room of the first night was just beside the evelator and we were glad to change the room for the second night.

Internet works in the lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bariloche-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

a charming : olde worlde atmosphere: about the hotel, the staff were polite and respectful .the food excellent our room with sea view was fine bit noisy from traffic but so what it was on the sea front . my only grumble was my grand daughter purchased water from reception and was charged £1 90p for a small bottle , we certainly will visit again next year

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marrow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just returned from a 5 day/4night stay at the Livermead house where we celebrated a friend’s mother’s 90th birthday. From the minute we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. We asked that a double bed be split into twin beds and it was done within the hour. We asked to be moved to a room with a walk in shower (I had forgotten to request one when I booked the hotel!) and although there wasn’t one immediately available it was arranged that we would move into one the next day.
Throughout our stay the staff couldn’t have been more friendly, in reception, in the bar and particularly in the restaurant. The food was exceptionally good, especially the evening meal where the choice and quality were superb.
The icing on the cake was when, on the night of the ninety year old’s birthday, the pianist played happy birthday and the waitress brought in a birthday cake complete with candles (but not 90!). A lovely end to a very enjoyable day, not arranged by us but the hotel’s contribution towards the celebration.
We would happily return in the future, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
529 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing