We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay and want to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Livermead House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #50 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed two nights and the staff were lovely. The room was large but dated and needs modernising but we had a lovely sea view. The garden was nice but the swimming pool out of order. Had a 4 course meal both nights (3 course but not 4 which we weren't expecting) and the guests were all lovely too, despite us being the youngest guests by quite a few years..! Really enjoyed the stay alot more than certain other places in Torquay we've stayed and will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    100
    37
    30
    41
See reviews for
83
129
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

To be honest we can't be doing with the pomp and ceremony side of this hotel all the long coats and uniforms but that is just us. But I'm sure for people who appreciate that sort of thing then this hotel is for you. The breakfast was nice. The room was basic but clean, and if you book a room with a small double bed be warned it is extremely TINY so check it's size before booking this. One low point of the stay was getting locked out after sampling the nightlife.We returned to the hotel at approx 12.20am to find no one at reception. We found out later that although the front doorbells worked, if the person on night duty has work to do at the rear of the hotel, the bells cannot be heard!!! Thus we were locked out for quarter of an hour. The hotel needs to inform customers on arrival, or even a note in their room, that if they plan to return after midnight they need to notify reception.
It's a nice place but we shall try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheddarwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We knew the hotel's position from previous resort visits. The standard of food and service in the restaurant is very good and that is probably the hotel's strongest point. Reception staff vary and bedroom size and quality also vary according to position and tariff. Relaxing edwardian charm is how I would sum up the lounges. The entertainment is a bit past its sell by date but in keeping with the taste of the guests. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and look at the room before committing. Some have steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faircommentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Have just returned from a weekend break and stayed at this lovely hotel . Bathroom a little small and could do with an upgrade but the bedroom made up for it , it was spacious with lovely views over the garden at one side and views over to the sea on the other side . Food excellent staff fantastic a real find. The views are amazing and the gardens are beautiful with a stunning pool which is kept to a very high standard. This hotel isn't a chic hotel but it has a charm all to itself and is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Mixed experience.
First the good stuff:
Highlight of this place is the outdoor heated pool, and hot tub. We were lucky to be there on a nice hot late summer day, and spend a wonderful few hours lunching, drinking and swimming by the pool.
The staff are absolutely superb, if a bit bizarre, with all the men dressed in full penguin style morning suits. I kept expecting batman to leap from the balcony.
The Polish bar lady was brilliant, she mixed up some great Pimms with all the trimmings - perfect.
The chamber maid was incredibly helpful and smiley.
The restaurant is very ornate and grandiose, with huge chandeliers and attentive service. The highlight here is the dessert selection. They're blessed to have their own pastry chef and ALL deserts are made fresh in the kitchen. (No Sara Lee processed rubbish here). The desserts are absolutely superb. Not exactly modern, but really really tasty.

And the not so good:
Rooms were very hot and poorly ventilated, and many of the fittings were a bit decrepit. In fact the first room we saw was so shoddy we changed it.
The hotel is on a busy main road. There are regular weddings on at weekends, and these can get a bit noisy, with the usual smoking crowd of cacklers spilling out into the gardens.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Lovely hotel on the sea front overlooking the beach. Staff are courteous and polite as well as being friendly.
I had a small double, room 601, for single use and it was perfect for 1 person. I looked at the seaview rooms on my floor (2nd) and they are really pretty with fantastic views to Berry head
The Torbay region of Devon is spectacular I have been going for many years but first time in the Livermead House. I am glad I tried this hotel as I had a lovely stay and will definitely be going back .I highly reccommend this hotel for short breaks and also for a full holiday. It also has a very pretty garden with outside pool. The location is amazing and a car is not needed to get about as the public transport is the best anywhere I have ever been. The hotel is a five minute walk to the train station and all buses stop outside the front door
The Dining Room has wonderful views across the bay and is in keeping in style with the rest of the hotel

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room well worth the extra for the specacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueskie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Recently stayed at Livermead House hotel. The bad points are

1. The room is way too small and cramped.
2. The decor is dated and has probably not been updated for a number of years.
3. We we were given a twin and when we requested a double, we were told they dont have another room but they will sort it. We sorted it ourselves by putting the two twins together. But they changed it anyway and the double had two different size beds which was slanting one side. This needed to be changed again back to what we had done it to ourselves.
4. beware of the spiders on the ceiling...
5. The manager was busy attending a wedding and wasn't really interested in hearing our complaints.

The good points are

1. It has main road location and good views from the bar. Thats about it!

breakfast was OK nothing great. No vegetarian options. you had to get up from your table and approach the staff to get their attention.
take care while ordering the teacakes (plural) for an afternoon tea as you will be served one teacake sliced in half!!!

Overall its way too pricey at £119/room for 2 people. I would expect much more at that price. However the target market for this hotel seem to be to older people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piyu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing