We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was 1 of a group of about 100 ladies who stayed at the Livermead House for the weekend. The staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly as well as being proffesional. I've stayed there several times before and plan to do so again next year. The food was excellent quality with plenty of variety and lots of choice. Altogether a very happy weekend,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Livermead for a dance break but added some extra days for our own relaxation. Both halves of the greak were good with good service, good food and good public areas. Our room was very good but having been before we knew which room to pick.

In particular we would like to place on record our appreciation of the Restaurant staff. They always work very hard to make mealtimes enjoyable and offer an excellent level of service. The service in the rest of the hotel is also good but this restaurant really stands out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights here, bedroom and bathroom were a bit on the small side but were very clean. Check lift availability before you go not all rooms have access to the lifts and keep in mind there is a railway line at the back of the hotel and a busy main road in front of the hotel.
We were fortunate we had a room on the side, there was no sea view and we could just see the top of the electric trains when they went past but the noise was minimal we were not troubled by it and we could not hear the road noise. We had problems with the plumbing in our room it really needs up-dating as does some of the decor.
During the weekend we were there the hotel was full, one wedding and one naval reunion so the bar and restaurant were busy, the wedding reception was held in a different part of the hotel so we saw little of it.

On the positve side:-
The food in the restuarant was very good and as others have mentioned it is served by staff in smart uniforms with the Maitre-de in his tails. If you do not want to eat the 4 or 5 course evening meals in the restaurant they do serve fairly substantial 'Bar Meals' which are quite good. There was plenty of choice at breakfast served again by very smart and helpful staff.
The main rooms were kept clean but the decor is a bit dated and old fashioned and a coat of paint would not come amiss, but it was the end of the season and no doubt some refurbishment will take place during the winter.
The hotel is situated between Torquay and Paignton, it is about a 15 minute walk into Torquay centre, but a bus ride to get into Paignton, buses are fairly frequent either way.









.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogangbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed two nights and the staff were lovely. The room was large but dated and needs modernising but we had a lovely sea view. The garden was nice but the swimming pool out of order. Had a 4 course meal both nights (3 course but not 4 which we weren't expecting) and the guests were all lovely too, despite us being the youngest guests by quite a few years..! Really enjoyed the stay alot more than certain other places in Torquay we've stayed and will be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

To be honest we can't be doing with the pomp and ceremony side of this hotel all the long coats and uniforms but that is just us. But I'm sure for people who appreciate that sort of thing then this hotel is for you. The breakfast was nice. The room was basic but clean, and if you book a room with a small double bed be warned it is extremely TINY so check it's size before booking this. One low point of the stay was getting locked out after sampling the nightlife.We returned to the hotel at approx 12.20am to find no one at reception. We found out later that although the front doorbells worked, if the person on night duty has work to do at the rear of the hotel, the bells cannot be heard!!! Thus we were locked out for quarter of an hour. The hotel needs to inform customers on arrival, or even a note in their room, that if they plan to return after midnight they need to notify reception.
It's a nice place but we shall try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheddarwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We knew the hotel's position from previous resort visits. The standard of food and service in the restaurant is very good and that is probably the hotel's strongest point. Reception staff vary and bedroom size and quality also vary according to position and tariff. Relaxing edwardian charm is how I would sum up the lounges. The entertainment is a bit past its sell by date but in keeping with the taste of the guests. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and look at the room before committing. Some have steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faircommentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Have just returned from a weekend break and stayed at this lovely hotel . Bathroom a little small and could do with an upgrade but the bedroom made up for it , it was spacious with lovely views over the garden at one side and views over to the sea on the other side . Food excellent staff fantastic a real find. The views are amazing and the gardens are beautiful with a stunning pool which is kept to a very high standard. This hotel isn't a chic hotel but it has a charm all to itself and is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#60 of 87 in Torquay
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead House Hotel in Torquay is an elegant hotel built in 1820 on the edge of Cockington Valley on Torquay Sea front in The Heart of The English Riviera, Torbay. The Livermead House offers a traditional flavour, Breathtaking Sea Views, and high standards of service and cuisine with an Award Winning Chef. The Livemead House is a Family owned & Managed Hotel on Torquay's waters edge. A Level walk to Town Centre - Free Onsite Parking - Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing