We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tad disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The staff in this hotel, particularly the restaurant staff, are excellent. However, for the price of the holiday it was extremely disappointing, and bluntly, a bit of a rip off.. The hotel is extremely run down and the decor is very shabby in places with a broken radiator cover in the bedroom. The bedroom had a fabulous sea view but it was like stepping into a hot furnace each time we stepped inside. However the housekeeping staff did a great job in keeping it clean.
jThe pool side chairs and loungers were frankly filthy, and could have done with a really good clean. The steps leading into the pool were wobbly and should have been made secure. Not very good from a health and safety aspect. A very disappointing aspect was lack of wifi which was only available in the reception area. For this day and age this is not really good enough. Running my own business I need internet access and was expecting wifi in my hotel room( particularly for the price paid) so it was very inconvenient to have to traipse down to reception each time I needed it.The average age of guests here looked to be 65+ and a great many were on coach trip breaks. Maybe this why there is no wifi in all areas as the owners feel there is no need due to the clientele they attract. Such a shame as it could be fabulous hotel for families, couples and business people and not just for the elderly. In essence, it needs fully updating and maybe the owners need to be less complacent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    108
    39
    32
    44
See reviews for
92
139
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I find it difficult to give a rating since the cons by far outweigh the pros. For a hotel in this price range it is seriously lacking in basically everything I would expect. Although the location is good, I think those of us who are not 60+ would be better off in a holiday let or the Premier Inn (which, incidentally, cost the same).

Pros:
- good service and helpful staff
- good location with easy access to public transport
- quiet (unless you are right next to the railway line or above a function room)
- modern and clean bathroom

Cons:
- small room (number 18)
- hotel is aimed at older people as evidenced by the decor and entertainment
- very noisy mattress that sounded like leather on leather, but much louder; not suitable for light sleepers (I had no idea a bed could be that loud!)
- lumpy pillows
- flimsy blanket
- no view at all: the window showed an enclosed small space only open at the top, so no air could get into our very hot room and it was noisy day and night due to extractor fans situated in that space outside
- few freeview channels and fuzzy picture on TV
- there are no toilet paper rolls, only sheets
- toilet does not flush reliably, if at all
- there is only wifi in the bar area (very small) and not in all public areas; no wifi in the rooms at all
- dirty pool
- hadn't come across the recreation areas (and you need to pay for use, which was not mentioned on the site where we booked)
- only one type of tea in the room, so take your own selection with you
- speaking as someone originally from the continent, the Continental breakfast isn't varied enough
- very dated decor: old-fashioned is fine, but not if it is obvious the place needs decorating throughout
- small garden: images deceptive
- a very busy main road separates the hotel from the beach, which I hadn't expected, judging from the photos
- it is very dark indoors if you aren't sat right next to the windows; also quite dim at night
- noise from function rooms (there was a wedding going on while we were there)
- entertainment aimed at elderly people (which can be amusing to watch - try and get old people to do the YMCA dance, for instance - but isn't for younger people)
- I expected far more for the money paid!

Neutral:
- I was surprised by the large number of foreign staff which I hadn't expected while holidaying in England. However, that isn't a bad thing, it was just unexpected since I was ready for all things English.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitharien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Were it not for the excellent staff in this hotel I'd give it no stars. What to the owners is 'timeless elegance' is actually very run down accommodation. It was like stepping back in time 30 years and there was nothing to remind you it was 2013.......i mean seriously, what hotel in this price bracket doesn't offer wifi these days? This hotel needs an awful lot of money spending on it in almost every public area and room it's just so run down. The room was more of a hot cell with small cramped beds that were purchased far too long ago and resembled a hostel in a third world country. The food at breakfast was the worst quality I've tasted in a long time - having it served by waiters in full evening dress with fine china does not make up for buying cheap food that repeated on me all day. Such a shame as a beautiful building and amazing staff with such potential to be a good relaxing hotel. In short to perspective travellers avoid it. But if you own a hotel in Torquay poach the staff as they're amongst the best I've seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just a single night spent at the hotel to attend the Old Grammarians Annual Dinner which was held in the hotel function room.

My single en suite room, whilst compact had a sea view at no extra charge, was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The meal at the function was excellent. The 'full English' was very good and the staff polite and attentive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKDCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at Livermead House for 12 nights for our main holiday. Having seen reviews beforehand we opted for a superior room with sea view. The room and bathroom were spacious and well appointed, judging from the style of the bathroom I would say that it had been renovated in the 1990's.

The hotel is old-fashioned for sure and yes, there is a rickety lift next to reception, but there is also a modern one only a few yards away, take your choice. There are clearly areas for improvement in the décor and a rolling plan of work is taking place.

The bar serves a good range of drinks and meals at reasonable prices, the meals being of good quality and size. However accommodation is over-priced and so are the restaurant meals (you won't get much change out of £80 for two dinners and a bottle of wine). The service was good throughout with the only shortcoming being that service in the bar could be slow at times, especially during restaurant dinner time and when there were functions on.

The hotel is a popular venue for functions such as weddings and proms, and organisations like Probus hold their meetings there regularly.

The biggest problem is the lounge/bar area, there being only one. During our stay there were several coach parties staying also and entertainment had been laid on for them every couple of evenings. As there is only one lounge there is nowhere to escape from the "entertainment" and it felt rather like we had gate-crashed a retirement home tea-dance (we went back to our room and watched TV which, incidentally, was a quite new flat-screen model).

Clearly the management have plans for this hotel and we wish them well. However, that being said, they need to decide where they want to position themselves. The building and location are well suited to being "top notch", however if the future is accommodating coach parties then so be it. Trying to do both isn't working.

Room Tip: Go for the top of the range if you can afford it, but don't expect great value. The hotel is san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey-Upminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Didnt enjoy one bit. I was woken every morning by a train thundering past at around 5 a.m at the back of the hotel. Shower cubicle was designed for a midget and dripped constantly. T.V signal was none existent. Very overpriced. Out dated decor and furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aceged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Torquay is just lovely place to visit, lot to do and see in surrounding areas.
Hotels can be bit price but we found a bargain online booking.com , The Livermead House.
We stayed 5 nights. The hotel is lovely, peaceful and has good location. Only 10-15 mins walk to Torquay center.
Rooms, I must admit they are dated, I personally was very disappointed with our room,
The room No15 very tiny, double bed TOO small window didn't open properly, wall paper in bad condition.
Our booking was with booking.com where are probably just the best rooms shown so I was shocked to see that.
In the end had to pay extra money to get decent room and bigger bed, No243 is spacious, has lovely pool and sea view.
Food was ok.
Overall pleasant stay.
Cant comment on spa and fitness, did not attend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
852 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing