We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, comfortable traditional hotel with great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bradley Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, comfortable traditional hotel with great restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The hotel location overlooking Torbay is unsurpassed. We were celebrating a Golden Wedding anniversary and special touches were added to make it special (champagne cake). The evening dinner offers a wide choice with silver service. The staff well trained and eager to please.

The lounges are spacious and comfortable creating a Edwardian atmoshere to enjoy after dinner coffe and drinks.

Great place for Sunday lunch but book ahead as it is greatly favoured by locals

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetercharlesJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    106
    39
    31
    43
See reviews for
88
136
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed for a weekend in May at the Livermead House. We know Torquay well as we lived in Torbay for 23 years and visit regularly to see family and friends. Hotel reception was good and breakfasts were very good with good service. Those were the pluses. The rooms were not very good - very dated and somewhat cramped. The first room we were given was next to a lift shaft (actually a quarter of the room had been taken out by the lift shaft!) and was very noisy indeed. An adjacent fire door made a very loud rasping noise whenever anyone went through it. I asked for another room and was given a choice of two. The next room was better, but still very very much below the standard that we had experienced at The Grand and The Imperial (admittedly a little more expensive). If you just want to use the room to sleep in this hotel is OK, but if you want a pleasant and relaxing stay it's probably worth spending a little more and opting for The Grand. Whatever you decide, don't get Room 68!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

This hotel is very well run with marvellous staff and the dining is quite exceptional. Entertainment is well up to standard and the location good for sea views and access to town centre and the rest of Torbay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisfiedtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxted
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel, from comfortable lounges very clean. to delightful dinning room with excellent food served by helpful, friendly eager to serve waiters (males /females) overseen by professional managers. All staff top to bottom friendly, helpful and eager to serve. Our room comfortable and very clean. View over garden, bay lovely. Our 4th. visit, hopefully many more to come.
Terry/ Liz

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teloxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Excellent service.All staff very friendly and professional.Food was very well presented and delicious! Strawberry puch was amazing!! Accomodation was good ,clean and comfortable. A fantastic venue for a wedding.Torquay is a beautiful place to visit there are lovely beaches just over the road from the hotel and it is on the edge of cockington; a very beautiful small village with many walks.The hotel is great, and I would recommend you visit!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The situation of this hotel takes a lot of beating - whilst it is not exactly town centre it enjoys the greater tranquility of being very conveniently placed on the periphery.Town access is very easy and can take only a few minutes . I would recommend taking a leisurely walk along the promenade or using public transport. The views from the hotel are spectacular as it looks out south into Torbay. The hotel offers a very warm friendly welcome and in our experience the staff were always pleased to be of service.The individual rooms are well provided with all that a visitor might require and some have quite outstanding views into the bay. The dining facilities are superb with an excellent and varied menu.The food is well prepared , quite delicious and served most efficiently by the staff. In addition the atmosphere is calm and relaxed as one listens to the live piano music in the background. I recommend The Livermead House Hotel to all persons seeking excellent value for money in a hotel that prides itself on great service

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascophyllum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSWINFORD
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My wife and I chose this hotel as a last minute weekend break,(chosen 2 days prior to visit.)
We arrived early,but room was soon made available, and we were given a seaviw room on second floor, excelent views, very clean, well decorated and comfortable.( a little traffic noise due to hotel front location, (double glaze windows ?).
Although an older hotel the overall decor was excellent,and restaurant area was beautifully decorated.
The food, both evening meal and breakfast was excellent and served by a team of very efficient staff,in fact all staff from cleaners upwards were all very friendly and hepful.
Loads of free safe parking.
Having stayed in various hotels in Torquay, I rate this hotel on a par with some of a higher star rating, with good all round service and value . Will definitly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEEKENDER0651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing