We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel has very friendly and helpful staff throughout and nothing is too much trouble - exemplary.
The food is excellent and dinner offers a lovely menu changed daily. The fish is particularly good. The nighly pianist adds to the ambience. Wide breakfast menu.

The sea view rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable - slightly noisy if you are right at the front as the main road is busy

It has an old fashioned style which is very pleasant

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth528800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    100
    37
    30
    42
See reviews for
84
130
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at The Livermead House Hotel. The experience was a truly memorable one - from the minute you arrive at reception, for the whole of your stay you are made to feel special. The hotel has a wonderful traditional feel - the Edwardian dining experience being an occasion to look forward to every time. The evening menu choice is amazing and the food is so tasty and appetising, beautifully prepared and presented. The choice of starter, mains and desserts is so great that you could not fail to find something which you would thoroughly enjoy. And during the evening meal we were entertained by an extremely proficient pianist "tickling the ivories" - a touch which only enhanced the already romantic atmosphere within the dining room. The lounge and bar area provide an ideal place in which to relax following your meal, or indeed during any part of the day - the views of Torquay and Brixham from the hotel are second to none and it is always possible to find a comfortable armchair in which to relax.

Breakfasts too were delightful - with a choice of full English or Continental, again with ample choice to satisfy all appetites.

The bedroom was special - again a beautiful sea view enhanced by two comfortable armchairs and an amazing four poster bed, a warm and cosy bathroom with lashings of hot water and ample storage space within the room itself.

There was nothing not to like about this Hotel - lifts were available to the upper floors which were ideal for those with mobility problems. The furnishings and decor everywhere are beautifully traditional and we just felt so welcome for the whole of our stay. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. An added bonus too of free Wi-fi.

We very much look forward to returning to the Hotel in the future.

A family run Hotel run by a family who truly care about their guests - what a pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Very nice comfortable weekend stay at this hotel. The staff were attentaive and went about their work in a quiet and dignified manner. Food was very good and plentiful, served in a timely and professional fashion.
A very good location overlooking the sea; although some way from the main part of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

The service was excellent, the staff polite and attentive, nothing was too much trouble

The single room was comfortable and well laid out and the ensuite although compact was light and airy. The view from the room was outstanding.

The Hotel is situated on the sea front with the whole of Torbay in front of you. If come down to breakfast before sunrise you will have an unbelievable view as she climbs out of the sea.

Best of all :- The food
Least of all:- The Tea Bags

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Starting with the positive. The receptionist is lovely and helpful. The female waiting staff are mostly attentive and sweet. The bar area is ok. The public toilets are clean. Ok now the negative. The bedrooms on the whole are dreadful. The single beds are far too soft and about 30 years old and that is NOT an exaggeration. They sink in the middle and you feel ever single spring. This hotel still has sheets and blankets they don't do duvets. Bathroom had a bright blue suite the shower head was so dirty I had to clean it before I went in it. The rooms are so tired they are in a coma! Traffic noise is terrible as the windows are not only not double glazed but are old metal framed which dont close well. Everything about the room needs changed but to start with. Spend some money on new beds and get into the 21st century and buy some duvets. The Evening meal was the strangest experience ever. The Restaurant is pretentious and they can't even get that right PLASTIC flowers on the table and they have seen better days. The waiters walk around in morning suites with tails!!!! This restaurant is trying to be something it's not. It's trying to be classy and it's actually quite funny to watch!! The food is fairly average. Lacking real taste, seasoning required on everything. The "chef" needs to taste things. But please get rid of the tales the plastic flowers and the silver service. Silver service is from the 70s and this restaurant is still stuck there. But if you fancy a laugh I suggest you go there as it's such a wierd experience. Breakfast. A good selection of cereals, toast was good. Orange juice was tesco value. The cooked breakfast looked good till you tasted it. The sausages were cheap and tasteless. The scrambled eggs tasteless. The mushrooms full of grease. Really disappointing. The female staff again very good. In summary this hotel needs a few million spent on it but simple inexpensive things can be done to make it more acceptable. 1 sack the chef or put him on a cooking course his food needs more seasoning and he needs to spend his budget on quality food like better sausages!! 2 buy new beds and Duvets. 3 lose the plastic flowers the prententious attitude of the male staff in their morning suite and tales. 4 drag yourself out of the 70s by removing silver service change your napkins. White napkins would improve the overall look. This hotel try's hard but fails on so many counts.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reo747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is the 3rd year I have used this group of hotels for our Women's Bible Study Conference. And they make it worth our while to keep coming back!

The work starts even before we arrive, enquiring after our needs and making sure everything is in place.

A couple of ladies were not totally satisfied with their rooms; however, they were moved and problem resolved immediately. The staff are very helpful setting up the conference, helping ladies to their rooms, which helps us relax knowing things will go smoothly.

Meals are great, they cope very well with the capacity
Some ladies were amazed at the wonderful rooms they were allocated to. The location is fab, on the sea front. We did not use all the amenities because our weekend is quite busy with the conference.

We are well looked after and I would certainly recommend and return. Thank you all at Livermead House.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteJones1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

rooms were nice, bathrooms were clean and tea and coffee making facilities were provided, the staff were very pleasant and genial and made us feel very welcome, the evening meals and breakfasts were great the food was definitely a highlight of the stay overall i have only good things to say about my stay and i will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverickspecies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay
Livermead House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing