We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMM she joked it was Fawlty Towers but it wasnt far off!”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I booked this hotel for a youngish couples bank holiday weekend away. I have family in the area and all of us love Torquay. I booked 3 double rooms.
On arrival we were told that if we used over our 4 allocated tea bags / coffee we would be charged extra! this set a tone for what we all felt was a penny pinching stay.
Our room had 2 singlebeds pushed together! when i enquired about this as i had booked a double, i was told to think about all that extra space to sleep in! funny enough i actually enjoy cuddling up to my partner at night and not slipping down the gap in the middle.
We were asked to pre order breakfast which we did. Not one of the orders was correct and i have never seen such mean/tiny portions. When i asked why the menu said 2 rashers of bacon but we only received 1 i was told they had printed the menu's before they had relised how big the rashers were in Torquay!! This we are still giggling about today. half a slice of fried bread on a breakfast is a joke surely everyone can run to a whole slice. One member of our party ordered 2 poach eggs on toast to be given 1 egg on 1 slice of toast this is hardly an adults breakfast!
When we booked the hotel on the internet it showed its spa and pool and bar, which was one of the reasons we decided to stay there. We are all keen sports people who train hard and like to relax with a beer. On arrival we were told the bar was shut due to her not obtaining the licence in time. We werent to bothered as we thought o well we will find a local pub.
The next day we went to use the spa and we were told that it wasnt working, it had run out of gas and she was unable to get realiable workman in Devon! so we carried on and thought o well we will just use the heated pool, well all we can say is that it must be heated with a tea light! it was freezing and we didnt bother again!
one couple in our party got locked in their room due to a faulty lock to be far to the owner they moved them into another room and the new room was gorgeous with lovely facilities, however when they requested soem more pillows (we were only allowed 1 per bed) they were told they would have to pay 50p a pillow! this we found unbelievable.
to be fair to the owners on our last morning some guests left without being served their ordered breakfast and she offered it to us which we readily agreeed to as we were still hungry from our child portions we had been given!
this hotel is obviously under new management from when we booked it and has the potential to be a lovely hotel, however out of politeness i feel we should have been told that although we had booked it with a spa, heated pool and bar none of these facilities were functioning. I felt very mislead and was very disapointed with the 2 single beds pushed together. As the hotel inspector always says 2 singles does not make a double!!
the pictures and claims on the internet are very misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank carvercox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Thank you for the feedback. I wish you had been able to give it to me personally, but that's the way it goes.
Happliy other guests have had better experiance of our hotel and this was reflected in the personal and public feedback. And incidentally, the pool is now heated, the Beirut-Bistro-Bar is open and everyone is enjoying all the Richwood has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 279 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Maïté T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Niet boeken!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Feneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 86 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 86 in Torquay
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#25 of 86 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 86 in Torquay
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing