We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop over”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stop over”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Visiting a friend in the area recently & needed somewhere comfortable to stay over night.
What a pleasure Saida & Veronica were to meet.
Very welcoming, couldn't do enough for me. A good nights sleep in comfortable bed.
Evening meal Saida cooked me a traditional Beirut meal.
Breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable.

An all round pleasurable stay, great value & great service. Would use again :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy_Lizzie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thanks! Look forward to seeing you at the Richwood again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    58
    22
    23
    24
See reviews for
46
160
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los bol
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I found this surperb hotel purely by chance after a sad and dissapointing week in cornwall decided to visit a friend in torquay, and this was closest hotel to friend what a fanatstic find great comms on phone Veronica and Saida made me instantly welcome ,food to die for ,they cannot do enough for you, unbelieveable this is their first year in the Hospitality business, Ive stayed in the finest hotels in the world over the years and some of them could learn about making guest welcome instead of the sterile atmosphere you get in larger and established hotels ,highly recommended 5 star treatment for a price far below that demanded of others ps no im not related lol you must try saidas hottest chillie in the world giving to her by a guest ...me :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandare1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dan Dare you were one of our best guests and have also become a very good friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Having just returned from the Richwood, we wanted to thank our lovely hosts Veronica and Saida for a most enjoyable stay. We were on our honeymoon and were greeted with flowers and bubbly; nothing was too much trouble for them. We booked the superior double, a large clean and airy room with plenty of storage space, king size double, two arm chairs and good sized colour TV with DVD. The en suite bathroom looked new and was spotless.
There was a very good choice of breakfast items and the cooked English set us up for the day - my selections were a whopping rasher of bacon, scrambled egg, hash brown, sausage, mushrooms and tomato - all freshly cooked and served hot.
The Lebanese Bistro was incredibly good value. Neither of us had eaten Lebanese cuisine before and it was a real treat to taste authentic dishes created in their own kitchen.
We didn't personally use the heated pool, the weather was a bit "iffy" for us, but younger guests seemed to be enjoying the facility!
We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowlmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed... maybe your expectations were somewhat unrealistic? After all, the two teas, two coffees, four sugars and four milks per day ARE complementary... ask the the hotel inspector for her opinion!
As for the towels, we change them every five days, we charge 50p for new ones if required, which is, we believe, not a rip off!...again, ask the the hotel inspector for her opinion!
And, by the way the basic breakfast is a choice of FOUR quality cereals, toast (seeded brown bread, white bread), butter, jam, marmalade, tea or coffee (also all good quality) and fruit juice - as much as you want... and our cooked breakfasts are, as many our our guests have said, delicious - and cheap.
The spa? Well, who pays for the heating of the water, the maintenance and chemicals? £10 is not exorbitant!
We are surprised you did not complain that we did not give you free drinks at the bar (the draft drinks were half price anyway!), free dinner in the bistro; after all they are facilities, like the spa, for the guests to use!
We are not a hotel, and yes, we do not have 24 hr reception or room service, but we are also inexpensive, clean and comfortable, with many facilities that other B&Bs do not have.
We would suggest that if you want everything for free, find a five star all inclusive HOTEL for upward of £200 per night, minimum, and stay there in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Good welcome & very helpful, enjoyed the kingsize bed but could have done with another pillow.Not to far from town centre right on a bus route with buses every 10 mins, last bus back just before midnight.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGFDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thanks for your comments, we were happy to have you here as guests. And please do not hesitate to ask for another pillow next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Veronica and Saida were great hosts, the hotel is gorgeous, the pool lovely, everything well kept and clean, the breakfasts were lush and the evening meal we had on our first night was just perfect! They were really helpful, really friendly and we will be back next year one way or another!

Room Tip: Room 14 where we were has a good view over the back of the hotel yet is high enough up not to be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmrjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
You were the perfect guests and we look forward to welcoming you to the Richwood again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Both my husband & I had a very enjoyable stay at the Richwood, the hosts Veronica & Saiyda were very welcoming & entertaining, nothing was too much trouble, at 1st we had a bedroom out the front but because my husband was having trouble sleeping due to traffic noise they kindly offered us a bigger bedroom out the back at no extra cost. The 1st night we were there was the official opening of the bar & bistro & we had a lovely Lebanese banquet. The hosts only took over this hotel in February this year & have done so much to accommodate guests and are both very welcoming. It was our wedding anniversary on the Friday we were there & the hosts did us a lovely surprise of a champagne breakfast with smoked salmon which was most appreciated & very enjoyable. We would like to wish Veronica & Saiyda all the very best for the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marysmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodhotel, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Gkad we added pleasure to your holiday in Torquay. We lookforward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I travel to Torquay every 6 weeks for business and I booked into the Richwood in May when Veronics and Saida had just taken over. They were in the middle of a major upgrade following their purchase and whilst things were not yet finished, they both went out of their way to make me feel at home, which they did. They promised that when I next came back to the hotel, their bar licence would be in place and their Bistro would be open, along with the heated outdoor pool and spa. I returned this week, to find that they had achieved this and what a great job and amount of work these ladies have achieved in those short 6 weeks.

I was made to feel very welcome, almost like a friend, as this was my second visit - the rooms are spacious, very clean, tidy etc. Breakfast was excellent and cooked for me earlier than they would normally be open, as I had a full day ahead and wanted an early start.

The other residents there were very relaxed also and many of us talked, which you tend not to get in some of the more larger and corporate hotels, so the experience was relaxing and homely.

I normally have to take a client out in the evening, but on this occasion this was not the case and I decided to taste some of Saida's Lebanise food - I was a little reluctant to try as I tend to be a bit mainstream, so Veronica arranged Saida to give me a sample of some vegetable, meat and fish dishes - these were lovely and I fully enjoyed them and would recommend this food if you have not had arabic food before, truely lovely and not heavy at all.

Just like to say well done ladies, see you in July/August and say hello to Sheba the dog, who they introduced me to also.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveaberdeen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 87 in Torquay
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing