We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there this past weekend - faultless.”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very warm welcome. Arrived very late Friday evening to find the bar still open just for me and my partner. Comfortable bed, yummy breakfast and funny, friendly staff that could not do enough for us to make sure we had a good weekend away. We will definitely be returning in the summer, when we can enjoy the pool area too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

What a great place to stay! Met with big smiles, stayed awake for us to arrive although we were stuck in traffic and didn't arrive till very late and let us use the bar after a long long delay. Room was very clean and tidy and all amenities were fully functional, nice hot water, VERY COMFY bed! Very well cooked breakfast both mornings, and plenty of plenty of good advice for what to do an where to go in town! Overall a great stay with lovely people, they couldn't do anymore for ya and I couldn't of ask of anymore! ;0) x

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pbygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thanks for the great review, look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My two night stay was just about perfect. Kevin does all manner of jobs at the Richwood - he's a lovely fella and very funny. He cooks a great breakfast. I was made to feel very welcome and will be back soon. Michael.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaelbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Kevin sends his regards and I hope to see more of you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Booked a two night stay here did not expect much as it is a winter time but the owners and barman Kevin exceed our expectations! Service was great, the rooms are clean and breakfast is yummy. Also received very warm welcome when we arrive and on every morning. Can't imagine how busy and lovely this place could be during Summer! Kevin is a very nice person to talk to, very knowledgable as well.
Hint to everyone, do not think to skip that breakfast just to get a little more sleep, you will sure regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will come and enjoy the Richwood in summer - we've got some great deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was booked on a budget as a birthday surprise for my husband; birthdays just after Christmas are such a pain, weather is usually rubbish and hardly anything is open. That said, we really enjoyed our stay in Torquay. The hotel was lovely, full of character and charm, and the owners and Kevin the barman went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I don't walk very well, but the hotel was near enough to the Torquay seafront to walk in about 15 mins, leaving the car at the hotel. this has to be a godsend in high summer!
We had a lovely room, beautifully decorated, and my only problem with this property is the number of stairs we needed to use to get to it: my fault really, as I never thought to say, when booking, that I had mobility problems! Maybe Veronica can clarify if they have ground-floor rooms?

Room Tip: we were upgraded to room 16 as a birthday present from Veronica & Saida; it was a very nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Sorry about the stairs... but very glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Had a great time in Torquay after Christmas which was really helped by a fantastic stay at this hotel. Veronica and her team were all very helpful and friendly and could not do more to look after us. The food was excellent, our room was lovely with a view over the pool adn all in all we were very satisfied with our stay. I would be happy to reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break in Torquay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Look forward to seening you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just got back from a lovely 2 night stay with Veronica and Saida at The Richwood. Lovely clean homely room and a warm welcome. Breakfast was lovely and Kevin the Barman was a font of knowledge for numerous things. We are planning a return in the summer when we plan to lounge beside the pool weather permitting. Lovely hotel perfect location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vking1Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thanks for the praise and for choosing the Richwood. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 85 in Torquay
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing