We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab friendly staff!!!!”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #52 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What lovely people! Ignore any poor reviews on this site. The beds were super comfy, the breakfast delicious and the welcome very warm. The room was spotless and nothing was too much trouble. The staff here went over and above board in making sure our stay was enjoyable and I would not hesitate in staying here again or recommending it to anybody. It is ideally located for a short walk into Torquay and the buses run from just across the road if the weather's not great. Thank you for making us so welcome and making our stay a thoroughly enjoyable one!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattnMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

What can I say? Come back soon, we loved having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived for a short 2 day break on Monday 11th February and immediately had a warm welcome and were showed to our room. We were on the first floor and found the room nice and quiet with no outside noises to disturb our sleep.
The room itself was both spotless and very comfortable with an ensuite shower and toilet.
Wi Fi was also a welcome bonus.
Whilst we didn't make full use of the facilities of the hotel , as the reataurant was closed due to the owners being out of the country , we were delighted with the standard of the hotel.
A shame it was winter as it would have been nice to take advantage of the pool.
Kevin served us a sumptuous breakfast each morning and kept us entertained with both his wit and charm also impressing us with his knowledge of Wales albeit a dodgy Welsh accent :-)
All in all an excellent break was had and both myself and my wife would certainly go back again .

Room Tip: We did not use the fitness centre or room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianjwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for the praise. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a lovely and welcoming place. Veronica and Kevin went out there way to make sure we were ok and all our needs were met. Perfect location and only a short walk to the sea front. our room was clean and the bed was comfy. Really good cooked breakfast each morning too. We would return, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you and hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very warm welcome. Arrived very late Friday evening to find the bar still open just for me and my partner. Comfortable bed, yummy breakfast and funny, friendly staff that could not do enough for us to make sure we had a good weekend away. We will definitely be returning in the summer, when we can enjoy the pool area too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

What a great place to stay! Met with big smiles, stayed awake for us to arrive although we were stuck in traffic and didn't arrive till very late and let us use the bar after a long long delay. Room was very clean and tidy and all amenities were fully functional, nice hot water, VERY COMFY bed! Very well cooked breakfast both mornings, and plenty of plenty of good advice for what to do an where to go in town! Overall a great stay with lovely people, they couldn't do anymore for ya and I couldn't of ask of anymore! ;0) x

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pbygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thanks for the great review, look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My two night stay was just about perfect. Kevin does all manner of jobs at the Richwood - he's a lovely fella and very funny. He cooks a great breakfast. I was made to feel very welcome and will be back soon. Michael.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaelbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, Kevin sends his regards and I hope to see more of you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Booked a two night stay here did not expect much as it is a winter time but the owners and barman Kevin exceed our expectations! Service was great, the rooms are clean and breakfast is yummy. Also received very warm welcome when we arrive and on every morning. Can't imagine how busy and lovely this place could be during Summer! Kevin is a very nice person to talk to, very knowledgable as well.
Hint to everyone, do not think to skip that breakfast just to get a little more sleep, you will sure regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will come and enjoy the Richwood in summer - we've got some great deals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#54 of 85 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing