We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable mid week break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable mid week break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable break at the Richwood Hotel. The food at the Beirut Bistro was excellent and very good value for money, as were the breakfasts. If you have the opportunity I would highly recommend eating there.Veronica,Saida and Kevin were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Very reasonably priced and good value for money. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lamb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    54
    21
    23
    21
See reviews for
40
149
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in the Richwood, Torquay.
There were eight of us (four couples) and we all agreed that we had a thoroughly good time in very welcoming and friendly surroundings.
The rooms were all different but all clean with tea/coffee facilities and en suite with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked to your own order every morning. If you want anything just ask Kevin and he will do his best to oblige - from brown bread at breakfast to a mini bus for eight within 20 minutes.
The bar is small but does have Kevin to keep you amused so it is never boring.
Would definately return. Thankyou Kevin and Veronica and the other lady whose name I cannot remember, but was also helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawn-snook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
You were super guests and I am content that you had a good time with us - we also enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looked closed,The owners were away. We were the only guests in the hotel, hence, we didn't have the opportunity to try the Lebanese cuisine, as the Bistro was closed, (we had no prior knowledge of this).
The host in charge did his very best to make us happy in the absence of the Owners.
Our room was warm and comfortable as a Deluxe room should be, the shower room was clean if not a little small. The shower door stuck when closed twisting the glass when exiting.
Bed linen was Polycotton and tired looking, letting the room down.

Room Tip: Deluxe room o/k
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We are truly sorry that you were disappointed by the very quiet Richwood on your stay last week. We had to take a family related trip away, missing your visit, our apologies.
None the less, I thank you for the constructive criticism, and we hope you can come and visit again sometime when the Richwood is bursting with life and try the Lebanese Cuisine then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had a great stay, exactly what we needed. Somewhere cheap, warm, clean and friendly. The beds were super comfy, the rooms spotless and warm. Our rooms where onto the main room but was not disturbed once by noise.
Our rooms were small, but for the price they were a bargain. We had a great stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for you review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

What lovely people! Ignore any poor reviews on this site. The beds were super comfy, the breakfast delicious and the welcome very warm. The room was spotless and nothing was too much trouble. The staff here went over and above board in making sure our stay was enjoyable and I would not hesitate in staying here again or recommending it to anybody. It is ideally located for a short walk into Torquay and the buses run from just across the road if the weather's not great. Thank you for making us so welcome and making our stay a thoroughly enjoyable one!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattnMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
What can I say? Come back soon, we loved having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived for a short 2 day break on Monday 11th February and immediately had a warm welcome and were showed to our room. We were on the first floor and found the room nice and quiet with no outside noises to disturb our sleep.
The room itself was both spotless and very comfortable with an ensuite shower and toilet.
Wi Fi was also a welcome bonus.
Whilst we didn't make full use of the facilities of the hotel , as the reataurant was closed due to the owners being out of the country , we were delighted with the standard of the hotel.
A shame it was winter as it would have been nice to take advantage of the pool.
Kevin served us a sumptuous breakfast each morning and kept us entertained with both his wit and charm also impressing us with his knowledge of Wales albeit a dodgy Welsh accent :-)
All in all an excellent break was had and both myself and my wife would certainly go back again .

Room Tip: We did not use the fitness centre or room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianjwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Richwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thanks for the praise. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a lovely and welcoming place. Veronica and Kevin went out there way to make sure we were ok and all our needs were met. Perfect location and only a short walk to the sea front. our room was clean and the bed was comfy. Really good cooked breakfast each morning too. We would return, and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you and hope we see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing