We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price without the budget attitude”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 15 April 2013

After working every weekend for 6 months my wife and I had to get away for a weekend. I wasn't sure when my wife booked us in at the Richwood due to the budget price. But I'm glad she did.
Very friendly staff, delicious cooked breakfast, excellent bed, very comfortable and well appointed room. The staff could not be any nicer.
But all too soon we had to drive back to 'Turk Town'.
If you are looking for a great value place to stay in the Torquay area, look no further.
I certainly won't bother looking anywhere else if I find myself in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14 if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for the glowing review! We would be very happy to greet you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband,young baby daughter and mum recently stayed 2 nights at The Richwood in Torquay.We were met with a very friendly welcome and a bottle of wine brought to our room.Our room was huge with a lovely view of the back gardens and pool area. The room was warm,clean and the bed very comfortable.Breakfast the next morning was delicious with a choice of hot food- would highly recommend the bacon and sausage!. Overall a nice stay in a very friendly hotel.Lindsey from Liverpool

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks for your review Lindsay and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We arrived to be greeted by the friendly owners who checked us in efficiently and quickly. The room was very basic but warm, comfortable and cosy. There is a flat screen television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, full length mirror (very important!) and en suite shower room. Kevin the bar man was very friendly and entertaining with his many jokes and stories, we had a most pleasant few drinks with him before dinner. Breakfast was very prompt, well presented and although I found it plenty, my partner did say it was a bit on the small side as it was delicious and he wanted more. Again service was very warm and friendly. We didn't see the pool as weather was abysmal unfortunately, but the warmth and friendliness made up for it. This is a good value hotel conveniently located at just five minutes from the center. I would be happy to recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliahg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review and for the praise and constructive criticism. We are happy that your partner so enjoyed his breakfast and wanted 'seconds'... if I had known I would have been happy to oblige! Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Have just returned home from a long weekend at The Richwood.
Superb location just 15 minutes walk into the centre of Torquay, on the main bus route for Brixham, Paignton and Newton Abbott.
Myself and my partner instantly greeted and treated like friends visiting this wonderful bed and breakfast.
Saida and Veronica great hosts as is Kevin the barman.
While there you must book in at The Bistro......the lebanese feast is a must outstanding and so full of flavour.
Our room was number 14 and wow what a dream, the bed was so comfy we had a job leaving it
Free wifi is a bonus as everywhere we have stayed before has charged for this...
We had such an amazing time we didn't want to come home.....still now we can plan our return to the ladies and their hospitatlity.
If you want a first class friendly bed and breakfast then the richwood is a must...we are definately going back SOON.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meljue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thanks for the praise! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were in the Torquay area for a funeral over the Easter weekend and were let down by the Hotel we had booked, the Richwood stepped into the breach when we could find no alternative accommodation, they allowed us to book in late on a Saturday evening, were very friendly and welcoming. Kevin the Barman went the extra mile by ferrying me back to my car on the following day. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel if you are looking for a friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

It was a pleasure to help, you were most welcome! It was great meeting you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable break at the Richwood Hotel. The food at the Beirut Bistro was excellent and very good value for money, as were the breakfasts. If you have the opportunity I would highly recommend eating there.Veronica,Saida and Kevin were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Very reasonably priced and good value for money. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in the Richwood, Torquay.
There were eight of us (four couples) and we all agreed that we had a thoroughly good time in very welcoming and friendly surroundings.
The rooms were all different but all clean with tea/coffee facilities and en suite with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked to your own order every morning. If you want anything just ask Kevin and he will do his best to oblige - from brown bread at breakfast to a mini bus for eight within 20 minutes.
The bar is small but does have Kevin to keep you amused so it is never boring.
Would definately return. Thankyou Kevin and Veronica and the other lady whose name I cannot remember, but was also helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dawn-snook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

You were super guests and I am content that you had a good time with us - we also enjoyed your stay here! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing