We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Richwood
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
153
59
22
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
59
22
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastgames roomwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the daytea and coffeebed was very comfortablestayed longertorquay harbourshort stayfeel very welcomegreat hostsfamily roomcouldn't do enoughvisiting torquaybreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 2 days at the beginning of July 2013, from the moment we were met by Veronica & Saida we were made to feel very welcome, our stay was very pleasant & we were treated as part of the family with nothing being too much trouble. The standard room was spotless & comfortable. Breakfast excellent. The bar was opened for us as soon as we asked. Excellent stay. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a premier room these are larger.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Great review from lovely people, thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in Veronica and Saida made us feel welcome.
The hotel is spotless, smells lovely.
Bedroom and bathroom everything you need, with the tea/coffee and biscuits with clean mugs replenished in the morning.
Breakfast pre ordered and cooked fresh as you walk in the restaurant.
Pool Is fantastic, the water having the chill taken off it allowed us to spend the whole afternoon there.
What else, the bar prices are very reasonable and the Chillean Chardonnay £14.95 for a well chilled is one of the nicest wines we have had.
Only regret is we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings, unfortunately went out to the tourist ones, typical processed food. The aroma from the restaurant was so inviting all cooked fresh, and if you don't like spicy foods they have alternatives, the others guests who ate there said how wonderful their meal was - SO JEALOUS

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryandCarlV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

It was our pleasure to have you here - shame you missed our cuisine, next time we will give your taste buds a treat !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a discount deal & wasn't expecting it to be great, After a very warm welcome from Veronica, we met Saida both very friendly. The place is more like staying with friends than a hotel, very comfy & down to earth. The breakfast is pre ordered the night before which I did find a bit weird when we arrived but once you go down the next day you will realise it certainly is worth it, best breakfast I have had in any hotel ever, all freshly cooked to perfection (thank you Saida) also a mention to Kevin also very warm & friendly. Thank you all for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

It was great having you here and thanks for the praise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent a lovely quiet weekend in great comfort at the Richwood. Breakfast was served to order and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Veronica and Saida, during our stay with them. We booked to have the Lebanese special cooked for us on our last night - we selected the mezza and the Moghrabiyeh chicken dish. Everything was served as a buffet for us - delicious food and great variety. We couldn't finish it all, so the remainder was packaged up for us to take home with us. We finished it tonight and it was even tastier, giving us a reminder of our weekend away.
They have a very well stocked bar and Veronica mixed our drinks for us each night. Our room was so clean, tidy and comfortable and was supplied with tea and coffee making facilities. A hairdryer was also provided along with shower gel and soap. The Richwood is to be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you Pam and Len for you kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were content with your small standard double room. Looking forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the Richwood in June, on entering reception there was a very strong odour of cigarettes, we were shown to our room and it was tiny, but more importantly it was above a very noisy road, we appreciate you "can't move" the road but when the hotel has only let three rooms and there are many more available it should be good P.R. to offer a quieter one, which they did, but then wanted to charge a considerable amount for an upgrade...
So we stayed put, thinking we would make do as we were only staying two nights.
We went down to breakfast the next morning to be greeted by Kevin, some describe him as jolly and funny, but when he insists on hovering over you while you try to eat it is bad manners and quite uncomfortable. He is also quite insulting, he hovered over a couple from the midlands and referred to them as Yam Yams and Yo Yo's. they said that the next morning they would get newspapers so he would leave them alone. Another couple from Russia had to undergo his exploits in the cold war and in very bad taste he pulled there race apart. they only had toast to eat, we think they wanted to escape his overpowering opinions and were very polite and made a swift exit.
The atmosphere was awful, and ruined what was quite nice food, we think that the two ladies who run the hotel would benefit from spending a little more time listening to what is said to their guests, we would have liked to have some drinks at the hotel bar and use the spa and pool but as the same person (Kevin) served and worked in both we most certainly didn't.
This is the only negative review we have felt we have had to write.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews