We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Hosts”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
“Marvellous Hosts”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Saida & Veronica were amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 3 nights. They cooked us a sumptuous Lebanese mezze, which we did not want to finish! Breakfast was delicious every morning and there was a lovely atmosphere around the place. We made use if the great pool, which was wonderfully refreshing after a hot day.
We cannot give enough praise for this great little place. It is not swanky but is a real homely, friendly place and we loved it....we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for the glowing review and we look forward to the next time....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    58
    22
    23
    24
See reviews for
47
160
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from a three night holiday staying at the Richwood.
I stay a lot in Hotels and B&B's with my work but this was the smallest room I have ever stayed in (including singles) and made spending any time in the room, apart from sleeping, not that pleasant. I paid £80 per night for a couple sharing, which whilst not a fortune is far from the cheapest I have paid for much nicer rooms.
I had hoped to get some work done online whilst on holiday but despite the advertised wi-fi my laptop and my wife's Ipad and Iphone all were all unable to get a strong enough signal to get online. We never usually encounter any problems. I tried to get online in the hall of the hotel and the owners reponse when I said that I could not get a signal was "no-one else has had any problems" end of discussion!
There was no room for a table in the room to work at anyway so it scarcely mattered.
Most of the major TV channels also had signal problems so reading was the best entertainment option.
The shower room was also too small for comfort and the tiny handbasin could not be used properly for face washing or shaving because of bashing ones head on the glass shelf above it.
There was a lot of road noise and also noise from the other front bedrooms the walls were very thin making us whisper to each other at night when we spoke for fear of disturbing other guests.
There were other irritations If you wanted (to pay for) a cooked breakfast they needed to know the night before, never come across that before. Returning to the Hotel at night it was always in darkness due to motion sensor lights, which whilst very eco freindly is not particularly welcoming.
On one night we wanted to take a bottle of wine back but my wife reminded me that we werent allowed as there was no food or drink to be taken back to the room as the Hotel was licensed.. but when we arrived back at 9.15 pm all the lights were off in the foyer and bar no-one was around and we didnt feel inclined to disturb anyone.
There was no means to dry wet towels in the room and to exchange them for new generated a surcharge, as did providing a towel for use by the pool.
There was a slight but unmistakable smell of stale cigarette smoke in the halls and stairways which wasn't very nice.
There were a few other small irritations which I won't go into but the general impression we recieved was that we were in someone else's house or a small b&b not a Hotel.
Having said all this the owners were perfectly friendly and welcoming and apart from the cigarette smell it seemed clean.
I have read the other reviews and note that bad reviews do seem to be dismissed by the owner as some personal failing of the reviewer,
Otherwise we had a great holiday Dartmoor is fabulous.

Room Tip: Apparently they have bigger and better rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Candanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
My first reaction to this review was to ask readers to compare it with other reviews and form their own opinion… sometimes pepper in the soup can add to the flavour!
However, on second reading, I realised there are some points I feel I HAVE to address.
1. The small, standard double room: yes, their room is small but very clean, comfortable and inexpensive even at peak season prices.
2. WiFi: Being a thick walled Victorian mansion, we are aware that we have very bad reception for mobile phones and pads; however, we have invested a considerable amount of money to give our guests FREE WiFi FOR LAPTOPS AND NOTE-BOOKS, sometimes we have had to re-boot to improve reception, which was not the case this particular time.
Did I say “no-one else has had any problems" NO! I said (after asking other guests): “all our other guests are able to log on, my apologies, I do not know what more I can do” and the gentleman was asked daily if he was able to connect and he indicated there had been no further problem…
3. TV reception; never had a complaint before, just checked in their room and the Freeview is working perfectly…
4. Breakfast: their arrangement included an “as much as you can eat” basic breakfast. Cooked full English is provided on request for a supplementary £5; it is delicious and has been highly praised (down the road the Travel Lodge charges £9!).
Ordering the night before? Well, we are only two people and sometimes more than 30 guests; we are organised and our guests seldom have to wait longer that 10 minutes… need I say more?
5. Lights: in the reception hallway we have a table lamp which is left on all day; I switch it off before I go to bed, which is often very late. The lights come on immediately, with no delay, as people move around.
6. The bar and alcohol in rooms:
- We do not allow TAKE AWAY FOOD at the Richwood, for obvious reasons.
- We do however inform guests on arrival that WE HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH OUR GUESTS IF THEY WISH TO DRINK PRIVATELY BOUGHT ALCOHOL IN THEIR ROOMS; what we do not accept is if THEY DRINK IT IN PUBLIC AREAS OF THE RICHWOOD, which we feel is fair.
- We are two people running a large, licensed B & B with a swimming pool and hot spa; needing some R&R (!) and we take Monday and Thursday evenings off; the bar and Bistro are shut at 6pm. On other days it is open all day - Mondays and Thursdays too - for as long as people want to have a drink. This couple walked past the bar several times on Sunday and Tuesday evening; they showed no indication of wanting to join other guests who were enjoying a drink in our lovely little snug bar. What else can I say…?
7. We change towels after three days, we are not the Ritz, and we do not charge Ritz prices. If guests want to change more often we charge 50p. Pool towels cost 50p. Terrible eh?
8. We are a smoker friendly hotel, no smoking of course in the guest rooms but we do have designated areas outside for smokers; maybe the smoke drifts back into the Richwood sometimes….
9. We are a large, licensed B & B: the Richwood was a hotel in the past, but not today. We do not have 24 hrs. or room service ergo: NOT A HOTEL.
We thank Candanski for his review. We are also VERY THANKFUL that he will not be returning to the Richwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Family of four returned from mini break today. Very relaxing quiet and peaceful. Really lucky witht the sunshine and poolside a sun trap. Only drawback was that the pool was not heated. Food good and made to feel welcome and comfortable.

We will definitely return and venture out of Torquay alittle more next time.

Room Tip: We had family room at back of property. Spacious and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Since the weather has been so warm, heating the pool when the water is 23 degrees seems unnecessary... but maybe that seems cool... sorry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked late, never been in a hotel alone with my wife , usually been on family hold but kids all grown up so this was the first time away without them. What great hosts very welcoming and jolly. Room was great very comfortable with the bonus if a new bed :-)
Breakfast to die for. But most of all a great feeling of home from home. Thanks to Sadia and Veronica . Will defo go again. Oh better than a four star any day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nbry64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thanks for the praise! We were happy to have had you here and look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a 2 night voucher deal in June. Our room was very small, possibly half of a larger room? The twin beds were comfy but no room to manoeuvre at all. Apart from the beds the only other pieces of furniture were a wardrobe and dining room type chair. The bathroom was also tiny and great care had to be taken not to bash the sink with the shower door when going in and out. Being at the front of the hotel the room was also very noisy with constant traffic using the busy road. We were lucky with the weather in June, but could not open the window due to the noise and had to rely on the tiny window in the bathroom. We did try the pool, but it was freezing, I'm sure it would have warmed up through July with the very hot weather. Breakfast has to be ordered the night before but was ok. We have stayed in several B & B's and hotels in Torquay, Babbecombe and Paignton over the years as it is one of our favourite areas, but I don't think we will return to this one.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool for less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDIANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
All our non-profit deals are for our standard rooms - which are small, but adequate. All guests using the deals are offered an up grade for £15 a night, which Diana chose not to opt for. When they were here the pool was heated to 25 Celsius - it was the weather that was cold!
We are sorry they did not enjoy their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wonderful Stay
We stayed at the Richwood for three nights in July and we have to stay it was the best experience we have ever had of a hotel. Saida and Veronica are the perfect hosts and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The room was perfect, clean, comfy with all the required necessities, we couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was yummy and really filling! We also experienced the "Beirut Bistro" and tried the kofta curry and lebanese mezza! Oh my gosh outstanding food! We couldn't get enough! Also the pool and spa were a great touch, it was lovely to have a swim and lounge by the pool! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot thank Saida and Veronica enough for looking after us and their hospitality. We would like to think we have made two new friends and cannot wait to visit again with the dogs!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STB391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Great review from great guests. We enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

When we arrived we were welcomed with open arms! Sadia and Veronica were very good cooks and I have to recommend the fish! I am one who doesn't normally like fish apart from the odd battered cod but Sadia's recipe made it amazing! And the mushrooms with our breakfast was a definite highlight. Their hospitality was just great and we left feeling happy and satisfied with our holiday. Overall it was one of my best holidays!!!!! 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Property: The Richwood
Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing