We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Richwood
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$405
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$155
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$147
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
152
59
22
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
59
22
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastb bgames roomwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the daytea and coffeebed was very comfortablestayed longertorquay harbourshort stayfeel very welcomegreat hostsfamily roomcouldn't do enoughvisiting torquay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel as part of a larger group. Staff were welcoming and for the price it was very good value. However, if you are a larger size person you may struggle with the size of the bathrooms some are tiny. Not sure on the target market... but for a cheap weekend away with no frills it was good. I slept extremely well and considering it was 2 ladies running it they did well. I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AudreyF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you Audrey for your review. Yes, our standard rooms are small, but the premiere and deluxe rooms are not. The joys of an old Victorian building! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, you were very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were part of a group of 22 who stayed here and effectively took over the place, so that has to be taken into consideration and provides the context. So firstly the plus points. They accommodated us as a group, and the girls who served us did their best and they laid on a buffet on the first night. The room we had was ok, but cold, but not as cold as the bathroom. Not so good however was the breakfast, certainly not worth a fiver and I wouldn't say cereals and toast was continental. Signage in the rooms and dining room was overbearing. Bar prices were excessive and no price list. We decided to buy our own wine and paid corkage, but considering how much we spent at the bar this too seemed excessive. In saying all this, room rate was ok and it didn't spoil our weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you, Keith, for this astounding review…
We are very disappointed that you felt it necessary to post a review like this - had you given your critique to our faces I would be able to deal with it better... we can all learn from positive criticism, after all.
As your group left this Sunday morning there were many words of thanks - we were left with the impression that you all had had a good time. You did indeed “take over” the Richwood and it was a weekend we will also remember.
The Lebanese buffet: did you not enjoy this? Most of your group seemed to find it very good. I am glad that you find the “girls” did their best… Keith, I am sure they will be happy to hear that all their hard work was recognised by you.
I am sorry your room was cold; the heating was full on…
Breakfast: we do not advertise our breakfast as “Continental” but as basic, and as much as you can eat.
If one reads further in our reviews one also sees that many people love our full English and I know that they are worth more than a fiver..!
Our bar prices: £3 for a pint? £3.50 for a 35ml shot? These are local pub prices and usually much higher in Hotel bars or other bars in Torquay.
No Bar list? We are a very small family hotel and have not, up to now, been told this is needed, indeed never before has this been asked for. On the request of your organiser, we had stocked up the bar, for your visit.
Of course we expected to make some profit from the bar. We were shocked to find out, ten minutes before we served dinner that the group had bought wine with them. We were asked if corkage could be paid and we agreed, showing, I believe, generous flexibility; we wanted everyone to enjoy their stay with us…
I ask you and any readers now: who goes to a pub, a restaurant or a hotel and takes their own drinks into the bar? And how many landladies or hoteliers would let you?
Our signage in the dining room, pleasantly asking people not to take more food than they can eat, comes from experience and our awareness that wastage is a major problem in our society - in countries where people do not have enough to eat, there is no waste. The mountains of bread -toasted and not eaten - and milk-sodden cereals - we have to throw away since taking over the Richwood should make any person who has respect for the resources of our planet ashamed.
We do politely ask our guests to switch off the lights when they leave their room, which is reasonable. We also noticed that you, Keith, left all the lights on in the guest lounge when you went to bed in the early hours of the morning. I even came down to the guest lounge in the early hours to politely ask you not to forget to turn off the lights.
The Richwood is very clean and that you gave us two stars for cleanliness makes me feel ill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was bitterly disappionted with the decor of the rooms which did not seem to of been decorated in at least 30 years. The breakfast was do it yourself, and so not at all relaxing.

And I found the hosts, standoffish, and not interested in constructive critisim.

Thank goodness we had reservations from the of and only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank sylvia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

This is ANOTHER fake review, written by someone who maliciously wishes us ill... and as such should be ignored. TripAdvisor should be ashamed to put reviews out ther, online, when they cannot prove that the critics has been to the venue they are critiquing. Shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I wanted to say what a wonderful time my partner and I had at this Hotel, it was pouring with rain and Saida was so kind and welcoming, letting us check in early, chatted with us and showed us to our lovely cosy room, we met Veronica later and she was just as lovely, the breakfast was tasty and the dining room clean spacious and inviting. They upgraded us to the family room as it was my Birthday and gave us a small bottle of wine which we found very kind.
We would have stayed longer than the two nights and will definetly go back for a return visit. We would recommend this Hotel as a warm clean fun place to stay, not posh or uninviting but place like home !! Tracey and pete

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed as nice as ours.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

...and what wonderful guests! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed only one night. Though we were the only guests in the hotel, the hotel was very welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean. we really enjoyed a lovely breakfast next morning. We will definitely visit again.









  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYoungj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your great review... from great guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews