We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm - highly recommended!”
Review of The Richwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richwood
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Richwood gets a resounding thumbs up from us.

Approachable, friendly and helpful owners make this B&B hotel good value for money.

My son and I spent five days here in July 2014 and greatly appreciated our clean and spacious room (number 15) - plenty of case/storage room and opportunity to spread our belongings

What distinguishes is the number of free-of-charge amenities - a swimming pool/spa ouside and a relaxation room indoors (with pool table). We didn't make full use of them, the point being that we could or should have! Our holiday itinerary did not give us the opportunity to sample the delights of the in-house Lebanese restaurant - maybe next time! The hotel bar was pleasant. with a selection of favourably-priced drinks. An ideal location for befriending the other guests.

For those without transportation, The Richwood is literally a stone's throw away from Torre railway station and a ten minute walk away from the centre of Torquay, ideally situated to reach all of the attractions in the Torbay area.

The basic breakfast more than matched our needs. We could have upgraded it - at an acceptable price!

Wi-Fi access was uncomplicated and reliable - best I have experienced anywhere to date!

Non-smokers (like ourselves) need not be concerned by the establishment's smoker-friendly policy as at no point in our stay were our noses challenged in any way. There's room for everybody here!

Room Tip: Premier room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you are back in the UK. Liebe Gruesse an Deutschland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for The Richwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

As soon as you're arrival at The Richwood begins, you beg the question why you hadn't discovered such a hospitable and welcoming accommodation before when travelling to Torquay!

The pleasantly warm hoteliers not only welcome you with open arms but ensure your stay is one that's not only all one could possibly require but bespoke to particular requirements.

Help was at hand whenever needed and management go above and beyond making sure our trip away from our chaotic lifestyles left footprints in our memories.

Most passionately to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brummy-Roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good hotel. Nice people. Excellent food. Wi-Fi works. TV works. Good location for those who travel differently than by car. The train station is in close distance from the hotel. The frequent local buses take you to the town center and the Seafront just in 5-7 minutes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan_Nadiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for the good review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for a Week at the end of May 2014, I had a teenager, 4y old & 8y old. I can honestly say it was a lovely week, the room was spacious (room 12), the service was exceptional and the kids loved the play room, If you want room service and servants to pick up after you every day then I suggest you go to the Grand. But if you want to feel at home away from home, be in walking distance from the beach, town and most activities then stay here. The staff are lovely, and will bend over backwards to help, there is a charge for extras, but then it is a business and reasonably priced. I have stayed in some of the best resorts & hotels around the world, but I can honestly say that The Richwood made me feel comfortable and stress free, even the kids loved it. Some reviews moan about 'rules' but in a nutshell they all mean 'Respect our other guests & home as you would like your home & self respected', I do not think that is unreasonable,
So thank you ladies for a lovely week..Sandy, Scott, Harley & Paige.

Room Tip: I would ask for Pool facing rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H8317PCSandyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you Sandy and Scot, Harley and Paige for your glowing review and your opinions about "the moaners"... We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again. A Super Review from even more Super Guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is advertised as a four star, it's more like a two star. I've seen that in previous review responses the owner says that it's a four star B&B ...
I think not.
The owner was pleasant enough but the room was tiny, very cheap looking and was a bit smelly. Saggy beds, very small bathroom with old faded towels.
It's a far cry from the photos on the website. We couldn't stay the night. We had to book a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Kent1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

The Richwood, a Victorian B&B Hotel (bursting with facilities), is NOT advertised as 4 star, we are a 3 star accommodation with 4 star facilities! We are sorry that Kent 1967 was disappointed. Having bought a free night voucher through a deal agent for a SMALL STANDARD ROOM, he was given the choice on booking of an up-grade to a Premiere Double or Twin En-suite (at £15 per night supplement) or our Deluxe Double En-suite (at £20 per night supplement), but said he would be happy with the standard room. The beds and mattresses in the room are new and certainly not sagging. With all respect, the room is not even a little bit smelly! - and very clean. Small bathroom yes, but the towels Egyptian cotton are clean, smell wonderful and were recently purchased. THE PHOTOS ON OUR WEBPAGE SHOW THE SMALL STANDARD TWIN EXACTLY AS IT IS. Having told my partner when being shown the room that they happy with it, this couple left, without comment, five minutes after arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location; a nice walk away from the beach. The owners are lovely and very helpful if you have any queries. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but this was very good; the service and food itself being excellent. The room we had was small but perfectly adequate and excellent value. We enjoyed spending time by the pool and having a drink in the bar chatting to other guests. We would not hesitate to book again at The Richwood.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenieWenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed having you here. Have lovely summer and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms was quite spacious and clean. The service provided by both ladies who run the hotel was excellent and we both enjoyed your stay. LEBANESE MEZZA was tasty and was catered to our needs.

The hotel is walking distance from the beach. I would differently stay at the Richwood when i visit Torquay again.

Thank you ladies for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huzeifa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for the review, we are looking forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 87 in Torquay
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing