We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Richwood
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
153
59
22
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
59
22
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastgames roomwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the daytea and coffeebed was very comfortablestayed longertorquay harbourshort stayfeel very welcomegreat hostsfamily roomcouldn't do enoughvisiting torquaybreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I traveled from Phoenix, Arizona to London, then on to Brighton and spent the last 4 days of our 10 day holiday in Torquay. If we could do it all over again, we would have spent the entire 10 days at The Richwood. Other hotels were cramped, uninviting and the hosts cold and uninterested that we were knew to England and truly wanted to have the best experience visiting. it wasn't until arriving at The Richwood did we begin to feel welcome on our UK summer vacation. Some much time and effort was taken at answering our questions as well as helping us plan local excursions. We looked forward to sampling the local cuisine, however, after our first experience out in town, we chose to try the small restaurant located on the property. AMAZING food! Both owners and chefs Veronica and Saida blew our minds with such wonderful delights over the remainder of our stay. Our room was clean and so comfortable and the premises, although booked at the time, we extremely quiet with no late noises or audible sounds of foot traffic, televisions, or large groups. The pool and spa located on property were a morning start to the day and a restful end to a busy day. Saida shared her customs, recipes and stories of her family and Veronica kept to our every need. I thought at first it was special attention because we were from the US, but my partner noticed it was simply the 'norm'. They brought us together with another couple and we made new friends on our trip as well. The hotel looked newly remodeled and fresh. Smells of new carpet and paint were evident and pride in the upkeep.

Room Tip: We communicated our needs when we checked in...they accommodated perfectly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Kris; we remember you and your partner well. We really enjoyed your stay with us and hope your journey home was uneventful and glad you arrived safely! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Richwood gets a resounding thumbs up from us.

Approachable, friendly and helpful owners make this B&B hotel good value for money.

My son and I spent five days here in July 2014 and greatly appreciated our clean and spacious room (number 15) - plenty of case/storage room and opportunity to spread our belongings

What distinguishes is the number of free-of-charge amenities - a swimming pool/spa ouside and a relaxation room indoors (with pool table). We didn't make full use of them, the point being that we could or should have! Our holiday itinerary did not give us the opportunity to sample the delights of the in-house Lebanese restaurant - maybe next time! The hotel bar was pleasant. with a selection of favourably-priced drinks. An ideal location for befriending the other guests.

For those without transportation, The Richwood is literally a stone's throw away from Torre railway station and a ten minute walk away from the centre of Torquay, ideally situated to reach all of the attractions in the Torbay area.

The basic breakfast more than matched our needs. We could have upgraded it - at an acceptable price!

Wi-Fi access was uncomplicated and reliable - best I have experienced anywhere to date!

Non-smokers (like ourselves) need not be concerned by the establishment's smoker-friendly policy as at no point in our stay were our noses challenged in any way. There's room for everybody here!

Room Tip: Premier room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you are back in the UK. Liebe Gruesse an Deutschland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As soon as you're arrival at The Richwood begins, you beg the question why you hadn't discovered such a hospitable and welcoming accommodation before when travelling to Torquay!

The pleasantly warm hoteliers not only welcome you with open arms but ensure your stay is one that's not only all one could possibly require but bespoke to particular requirements.

Help was at hand whenever needed and management go above and beyond making sure our trip away from our chaotic lifestyles left footprints in our memories.

Most passionately to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brummy-Roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good hotel. Nice people. Excellent food. Wi-Fi works. TV works. Good location for those who travel differently than by car. The train station is in close distance from the hotel. The frequent local buses take you to the town center and the Seafront just in 5-7 minutes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan_Nadiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for the good review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for a Week at the end of May 2014, I had a teenager, 4y old & 8y old. I can honestly say it was a lovely week, the room was spacious (room 12), the service was exceptional and the kids loved the play room, If you want room service and servants to pick up after you every day then I suggest you go to the Grand. But if you want to feel at home away from home, be in walking distance from the beach, town and most activities then stay here. The staff are lovely, and will bend over backwards to help, there is a charge for extras, but then it is a business and reasonably priced. I have stayed in some of the best resorts & hotels around the world, but I can honestly say that The Richwood made me feel comfortable and stress free, even the kids loved it. Some reviews moan about 'rules' but in a nutshell they all mean 'Respect our other guests & home as you would like your home & self respected', I do not think that is unreasonable,
So thank you ladies for a lovely week..Sandy, Scott, Harley & Paige.

Room Tip: I would ask for Pool facing rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H8317PCSandyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you Sandy and Scot, Harley and Paige for your glowing review and your opinions about "the moaners"... We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again. A Super Review from even more Super Guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews