We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Richwood
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
159
60
23
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
60
23
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastgames roomwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the dayour night staytea and coffeeten minute walkbed was very comfortablestayed longershort staytorquay harbourfeel very welcomegreat hostsfamily roomcouldn't do enough
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not to sure how or where to start really. But it always worries me when you arrive at a hotel to be greeted with a for sale board outside?
The outside of the building is certainly unusual and not sure as to the purpose of it as I'm sure it would put passing trade of?
The main entrance is on the right hand side of the building, with a large banner overhead telling everyone that it was on 'Four in a bed'...but it was five years ago and after watching the programme, I'm not sure why you would want to advertise the fact?
As others have already mentioned, there is certainly some unusual odour downstairs, cigarette smoke or dogs or a combination of both not sure? Not particularly unpleasant, but it would be much better if it wasn't there.
In truth I do really like Victorian buildings but the lobby area was really quite dark and rather drab which was a real shame.
On the plus side, our room was clean but the en suite had a musty smell to it which we couldn't understand why. That was until one of us had a shower and noticed that the cubicle leaked really badly. Consequently the water was seeping under the lino, so by the time four of us had showered I shudder to think how much water was going in places that it really shouldn't, let alone how much damage it must be causing under the floor boards?
However, another plus was that we all enjoyed a great nights sleep.
Really disappointed that we couldn't use the pool or the hot tub, but looking in the pool from the bedroom window it was in need of a serious clean out.
It's a great building but it is in need of some serious cash injection and probably some fresh ideas about the decor to attract more people.
And after watching 'four in a bed' everything is done by just two people, which wasn't the intial business plan l know, but it's a huge ask to expect two people to maintain such a large hotel.
I sorry to say that we all agreed that it just didn't feel particularly welcoming, and the rather sternly worded notices on the wall about turning the lights off didn't help.
The breakfast ordering system was slso a bit unusual but as there are only two of them running the show, l can understand why they do it this way.
On our departure I wanted to mention about the leaking shower but there was no one available so l presume they were both in the kitchen/dining room?

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Well, Alan certainly likes writing TA reviews!
Where to start?
Well, we are very happy that at least Alan and his family slept well, that goodness for that!
OK. To the rest of his review:
1. SO MUCH POTENTIAL BUT NEEDS SOME CASH INJECTION FIRST: We have spent a great deal on the Richwood. Life is expensive for us all; we are so sorry we are not rolling in in money so that we could turn this quirky Victorian building into a modern monster.
2. ON-SALE: I will be 70 next year, and I am really looking forward to retiring. However, to do so we need to sell, hence the for-sale sign! Sorry if this bothered our TA star reviewer!
3. We are also sorry that he finds that The Richwood – our home as well as a guesthouse – has an unusual odour. What can one say?
4. Décor: some people love the way we have redecorated – in keeping with the Victorian building - and a few don’t. I guess Alan is of the latter.
5. 'Four in a bed': we cannot really work out what he means by this, except perhaps to attack us a little more…
6. Alan booked via booking.com - for four persons - arriving with five. Booking.com states clearly that our pool is seasonal and open from June-September.
The pool is at present waking from it’s winter sleep and is in progress of been cleaned, and obviously not yet ready to be used. We told them this on arrival…
The pool, and the connected hot spa, will be open 1.6. - sparkling, and ready for use.
7. We thank Alan for NOT telling us about the problem in the shower room! This really helps with maintenance, since we never take a shower there! He could have maybe left us a message on leaving? Alan commented about two people running this business. Yes, true, but we have plenty of help when we need it. Had he come back to the kitchen to say he was leaving, he could have told us his opinion of the Richwood personally instead of attacking the business on this platform.
So, all in all, an unnecessarily unpleasant review.
So sorry Alan. But I feel even if we had stood on out heads, you would probably still not have been happy...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We have literally just returned from the Richwood, what a lovely Hotel. Before staying I did read the reviews and was a little nervous but I can honestly say there was no need to be.
Il be completely honest I’m normally one for big chain hotels etc however we were given a gift voucher experience and I could not have been more pleased to spend two nights here.
Staying as a younger couple, we enjoyed our get away without the children. Although I can assure you we will be returning with the children.
On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Veronica who showed us all we needed to know about the hotel. The voucher was for a small double room which fitted our needs well.
We stayed in room 8 - Bed was comfy, tv in room, ensuit but most importantly clean. The hotel is literally a ten minute walk down to the harbour which was lovely. It’s a great base for exploring.
We did have breakfast at the hotel, you have to order the night before but for us that’s no problem.
We were recommended the scrambled eggs and were certainly not disappointed.
Saida was very welcoming every morning.
On the second day we had an unfortunate incident with seagul poop, on returning to the hotel I asked Veronica if there was anywhere I could hang the clothes to dry after i swilled them and she very kindly offered the use of the tumble dryer if needed.
I understand the hotel decor etc may not be to everyone’s taste but honestly give the hotel a try, they have a lovely swimming pool for summer months.
On check out we had a lovely conversation with Saida something that when staying at big hotels you don’t get. Your actually treated as a guest here and not just a number.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you Sarah, for the comprehensive and glowing review - this gives us ais under our wings! You were the perfect guests and you will be very welcome again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We recently made an enquiry on the phone with this hotel to use our Buy a Gift voucher. We were told to put our enquiry via an e mail and asked to quote our voucher code when we did so. We were horrified to receive an email from the hotel the next day confirming our booking for an economy double room and confirmation that they had redeemed our voucher with Buy a Gift. At NO time had we even requested or confirmed a booking with them, merely had the misfortune to contact them with an initial enquiry.
Following immediate contact with the Richwood they were unwilling to acknowledge, despite e mails showing the contrary, that we hadn't confirmed a booking with them and refused to cancel the booking. As they had prematurely redeemed our voucher with Buy a Gift we were unable to book our stay with another hotel.
We feel this was despicable behaviour by the hotel. We immediately referred the complaint to Buy a Gift who were also unable to obtain a satisfactory outcome from the Richwood. Thankfully, because of the circumstances, Buy a Gift provided us with a replacement voucher to use elsewhere.
Shame on you Richwood for behaving in such an unprofessional way. We do note that previous, unfavourable reviews left on TripAdvisor by their customers are likely to receive rude/sarcastic comments left by the Richwood in reply. We fully expect one for our review but we can live with that for helping other TripAdvisor customers make informed decisions of where to stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PandCdevontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Even thought this cannot be taken as a "review" of the Richwood as Mr Cann has never been here, I still feel I need to reply.
Following a telephone call late in the evening of the 20th March, we verbally confirmed to Mr Cann that a room was available on the dates he required, On opening the Richwood office on the next day, the 21st, I found the following Email, sent BEFORE he called. Understandably, we took this as a booking request:
"Hello
I have a buyagift voucher and would like to use on the 20 April for 2 nights for 2 people (Double Room please)
The voucher reference is xxxxxxx-xxxxxx. Mobile number is XXXXXXXXXX.
Would you please let me know as soon as possible what availability you have please.
Kind regards
Philip Cann"
We had already informed Mr Cann on the telephone that the dates were available and sent a confirmation by return, on the 21.3.18.
We handled in good faith. On the vouchers it is clearly stated that once booked, the deal could not be cancelled.
Finally, in retrospect, we now are relieved that Mr Cann has decided not to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Wonderful few days, very clean and tidy lots of character to the building. The owners were so very helpful couldn't do enough for us, lovely atmosphere and homely. The games room is a Great idea and a nice way to spend a few hrs.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica P, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks for choosing the Richwood. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

A boost of upgrading the decor together with a better cleaning of the rooms would lift the place. A better attitude from the staff/ owners? when asking for appropriate service would also lift the atmosphere. I will never stay there again and being a foreigner I have to say that my confidence in the English tradition with B&B's was decreased by this visit. And the smell of tobacco in my room was alone reason not to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank boewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRichwood, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

We had no guest(s) from Denmark this September, this we can proove.
Our decor is good and in keeping with the Richwood, thanks very much.
As for Cleanliness and Attitude, please see our other reviews.
We have nothing further to add except - that 4-in-a-Bed was recently re-aired...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews