We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another brilliant holiday at Lanscombe house, Cockington”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanscombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanscombe House
Ranked #77 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another brilliant holiday at Lanscombe house, Cockington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lanscombe House is just a delight, steeped in history and sympathetically modernised, spotlessly clean and Paula and Leon are the perfect hosts. Cockington is a beautiful quiet village and still only 25 minutes walk into the centre of Torquay, another brilliant holiday here and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueroy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJNTorquay, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Roy and Sue, Thanks for your review. Always a pleasure to see you. Look forward to seeing you again in October. Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent B & B. Leon & Paula were excellent hosts, would recommend this to anyone. Will definitely return. This is set in a beautiful and peaceful village, ideal for anyone requiring a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a fantastic week here.Lanscombe House is lovely. We were looking for peace and quiet, good walks, national trust properties and gardens and good food. We found everything here. There are barely any streetlights so it's a great place to spot bats, there are owls and other wildlife and although Cockington itself is incredibly quiet at night, Torquay is just a walk along the seafront. Lanscombe house offers the best breakfast I've ever had! Really delicious. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast room is spacious, the huge garden is pretty and one of the reception rooms is an 'honesty' bar and you can take your drinks out into the garden which was great. Leon and Paula were super hosts. We will return, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Room 1 has french windows onto the garden, lovely. This room has twin beds and they are incredibly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebsyJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lanscombe House a perfect place to stay,the accommodation is spotlessly clean.good breakfast.Leon and Paula are really pleasant hosts.A 15 minute walk and your in Torquay, or a 5 minute walk in the opposite direction and you can be enjoying a pint of Tribute outside the Drum Inn watching the local cricket club.Cockington a Devon village at its best.

Room Tip: Room four peaceful overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We've stayed at Lanscombe House in July as a present for my birthday and to be honest words can not describe how satisfied we were with our stay! We had to stay one more night because we just couldn't let go of this place!
Everything was perfect: the location(very quiet and relaxing but close to the beach in the same time) ,the hotel itself,the room (we loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom),the cleanliness...everything spotless! The breakfast was great,lovely local food!
Leon and Paula,the best host,any question you have they'll answer it!
For us 5* it's not enough,that's a 5*+ lovely place!
We can't wait to go back!
Thank you!

Daniel and Valentina

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danutz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband & I have recently returned from a weeks stay at Landscombe house , it was our third visit & as before we enjoyed the peace and quiet more than words can say. We mind our 4 grandchildren all year round and of course we love them dearly but to stay in a child free hotel was like being in an oasis of tranquility ! So thank you Leon & Paula for looking after us so well and of course we will be back to have our batteries recharged again

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 3 & 4 both are beautiful sunny rooms but room 4 is larger for the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Lanscombe House for 2 nights and found the whole experience quite brilliant. We were greeted and welcomed to the hotel in a warm and professional manner. The room was great, good size and the ensuite was clean and faultless.

There was a wide selection for breakfast with all high quality local produce and it felt like the owners really cared about your breakfast experience.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJNTorquay, Owner at Lanscombe House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed it. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cloudlands
Cloudlands
#56 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haldon Priors Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanscombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanscombe House

Property: Lanscombe House
Address: Cockington Village, Torquay TQ2 6XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanscombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star Lanscombe House is in a stunning location within Cockington Village and Country Park yet just a few minutes walk from the sea and Torquay beyond. The listed property has just 7 refurbished individually furnished rooms with quality en-suites and the personal attention to detail from the owners Leon & Paula Butler you would expect from a five star boutique country house. Lanscombe House has their own car park, a cosy bar, elegant guest lounge and spacious sunny breakfast room leading out to the walled Victorian gardens. The world famous preserved thatched village boasts a number of tearooms,a pub/restaurant as well as the extensive crafts studios at Cockington Court and 450 acres of park with rural walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanscombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanscombe Hotel Torquay
Lanscombe House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing