We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly People, pleasent atomosphere, comfy rooms!”
Review of 74Belgravia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
74Belgravia
Ranked #90 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly People, pleasent atomosphere, comfy rooms!”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

When I arrived at doogals I was greeted with a big smile from Maria. We checked in and then I was given directions to the carpark which was situated within a minutes walk from the guesthouse. Steve offered to carry some of the bags for me and the little ones.
The atomosphere is the guesthouse is cozy.
I loved our room, it was spacisious with enough room for me and the children to get ready for a meal out at the local pub which was just across the road.
I have stayed at others along the same strip of Guesthouse's but this was by far the most welcoming.
The whole family had a great trip and we will definatly be re-visiting doogals guesthouse!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Just a few days since our family Easter Break in beautyful Devon and already planning our return in the summer holidays.
We stayed at the Doogals Guesthouse were steve and Marie made us feel very welcome and at home. We found our family room comfortable and generously sized given the very resonable price we paid, it was clean and well presentedwith cozy beds and a plesant en-suit.
We enjoyed the breakfast with decent sized portions and ample choice for our somewhat fussy children! we felt the time breakfast was served alowed us to make full use of the day and only chose to sleep in and eat out on one occation.
On our final day we requested a wake up call, due to having a train to catch and they were happy to oblige. Steve even entertained my son with a magic trick whilst we waited for our taxi!
Have just read the privious review and feel this person must have stayed in a different hotel to us, we have stopped at Doogals several times before and look forward to returning in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinsplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

When we first got to the hotel, the female was very welcoming and showed us around the bedroom before we agreed to stay. the rooms were basic and old looking. we had paid for bed and breakfast rates yet did not receive a morning call or just a friendly reminder that breakfast was due to start. what we did get was a man in the morning telling us that we had missed it (by only 15 minutes) and they were very strict about that. but thinking about it if we had got down to breakfast at 8:45 we could still of been eating in the dining room. they didnt even offer a refund for the breakfast charge which to me is out of order considering we were the only people staying in the hotel at that time.....pure lazy
The bathroom which they said was ensuite was a glorified wardrobe with a leak. the whole shower unit fell of the wall and the water regulator had no medium temp. it scalded me....banged me in the face when it fell off and then to add insult to injury the shower gel dispenser would not dispense.
the bed was tiny and uncomfortable and had a cheap scratchy waterproof sheet on it. ok fine i understand they dont want people urinating on the bed but with the money that they dont refund for un taken breakfasts surely they could afford better quality waterproof sheets.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmartin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOOGALS, owner/manager at 74Belgravia, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
I am so sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay with us,as you can clearly see their opinion is not matched by any other reviewer. Breakfast is indeed served between 8.30 and 9.00 am and I did indeed cook their breakfast at 8.55 in the hope that they would come down for it, I also kept it warm in the oven for ten minutes after this I threw it away.They did not come down until 9.30.There is a large sign saying the breakfast time,also in the room is another sign. I told them the time when they checked in, I also reminded them again when I took them to their room.As they mentioned I did show them their room before they checked in, our rooms are comfy and homely, and If they didnt like the room I am puzzled why they took it, we are on a road with 50 other guesthouses and Hotels, the shower room is small but there is absolutely nothing wrong with the shower, I am sorry they knocked the shower head out of the riser,the unit itself cannot be moved without a hammer and chisel so I am not sure what happened there.I agree that matress covers are awful but they are needed for hygiene purposes.I just wish they had told me their complaints before they had left , as I am so sorry I did not get chance to apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Stayed for 3 nights - spur of the moment. Both hosts were friendly + helpful. Comfy room + bed, good shower, everything you would want, even down to the TV with Freeview. Excellent as a base. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittens967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

My partner and I, booked on the spur of the moment, just for a short break, Maria and Steve made us feel very welcome.
Very friendly, nice atmosphere.
Breakfast was very good, we will definately be going back, even if it's only for the extra sausage that they promised us.
Thankyou Doogals

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Had a great stay in Torquay at Doogals.Steve & Maria were very friendly.Had comfortable room & the breakfast lasted me all day.Travelled by bike & had the use of a cover in the private parking.Had a run to Dartmouth & Steve came with me & showed me a better route.Next time in Torquay I will be staying at Doogals either on my bike or in car.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Steve and Maria couldn't have been more helpful, even when one of the group locked himself out in the middle of the night and had to ring to be let back in! Good little base for us to ride around Devon from, safe parking area for bikes. couldn't want more.....Nice one.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdfatboy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 87 in Torquay
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#107 of 149 in Torquay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 74Belgravia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 74Belgravia

Property: 74Belgravia
Address: 74 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England (Formerly Doogals Guesthouse)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 74Belgravia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
74Belgravia is in the prime tourist location of Belgravia just a short walk to the beach, passing the bowling greens, gardens and Torquay tennis club on your way. The town centre is within easy walking distance via the promenade where you will find the Princess Theatre, Torquay Marina and the harbourside with open air cafe life and the Pavilion shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your 74Belgravia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74Belgravia Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing