We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentley Lodge
Ranked #8 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just come back from a three night stay at Bentley Lodge. We were thrilled with our room. The décor is lovely and everything is very clean and just perfect. Kim and David are welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are delicious and everything is very well organised. We just had a thoroughly brilliant time. The situation within the town is convenient for access to restaurants and the seafront and there is ample parking for the guests. Would recommend this B&B to everyone
Monica and Alan O'Dea

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We've returned from a 4 night stay in the Bentley Lodge and were very pleased with our stay. I think it's the little touches which make the stay that bit more special.. When we arrived we were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits in the garden, our room was lovely, well decorated, clean and cosy, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, we got a specially prepared breakfast for us each morning and plenty of tea, plus friendly service and advice on places to visit. We were there for our wedding anniversary, and were very touched to get a card on the day. The only very minor drawbacks/negatives I feel would be that it's quite a walk from the main centre but I have no doubts that this is only because of the giant breakfasts I had been eating and the fact that I'm quite lazy.. This was also a positive though because it meant it was quieter, also the TV played up a bit every now and again (probably because it was digital and lost signal) but how much time are you really going to spend watching TV when there's so many fun things to do?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Standards are high in this establishment. An eye for detail is shown not only through the cleanliness and organization in the guest house, but also through the additional facilities (ironing board, sewing kit...). The breakfast was excellent, and although other comments on trip advisor question the use of the breakfast form, it is used only to reduce wastage and thus has an effect on the room prices. The hosts were friendly, helpful and informative. On our next visit to Torquay the Bentley Lodge will be our first inquiry for room availability.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having just returned from a five night stay at this guest house David & Kim our hosts strive to make all their guests most welcome as on arrival we were greeted with freshly made pot of tea & biscuits which was served on the decked patio area of the very well maintained and laid out garden. Our room was excellently presented and was of a very high standard of decoration and cleanliness and very well furnished. Breakfast choices were excellent and always presented freshly cooked to your liking. We would not hesitate to return to this guest house again and would fully recommend to others looking for high specification of accommodation. The walk into town is approximately 20 minutes which is mostly level and easy, although the local bus service is extremely frequent which we used on most days leaving our car at the lodge's free car park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David19452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on 27th Aug and enjoyed our stay at the Bentley lodge.

We were able to check in earlier than stated as we turned up earlier than we expected. Rooms were very clean, we had room number 1 which had a bay window with a couple chairs which was nice to sit and people watch. Had a problem sleeping if leaving the windows open, but nothing to do with the B&B, we are just used to living in a quiet area and the B&B is along a main road.

Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. You pick what you want the day before and a time slot you want and you only have to wait a few mins and out comes your breakfast.

Kim and David were very good at recommending places to see/eat. First night we ate at Ocean Drive which was just up the road. Overpriced average food. I wouldn't bother. Second night on Kim's recommendation we ate at Simla Spice in town and it was lovely if you like Indian food.

One thing baring in mind is the lodge is about 30mins walk into the main town/harbour area.

Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynlar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Well this was our 3rd visit to Bentley Lodge and the 2nd with Kim and David as proprietors. The perfect hosts. And to be honest, it just gets better and better. We felt like we were visiting old friends. Its the perfect location for walking in to Torquay or exploring further afield by car. Hospitality is 5* and they couldn't have done more for us. Bedrooms and dining area were immaculate throughout our 4 day stay and we always looked forward to our varied and extensive choices of breakfast each morning.
Already looking at dates to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Kim and David we the prefect hosts. Their recommendations for local walks and activities were most welcome and made our stay in Torquay very enjoyable. The standard of Bentley guest house exceeded our expectations, the room was beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was of a very high standard; Kim and David took time to converse and made us most comfortable. We would certainly recommend Bentley Lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#11 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 149 in Torquay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Address: Bentley Lodge Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing