We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday Bash”
Review of Bentley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bentley Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Our family (5) came to Torquay to celebrate my Mother in Law's 90th birthday (she lives in TQ). We were once again welcomed at Bentley Lodge by David and Kim. As before the accommodation was immaculate and so so clean! The breakfasts were delicious and my youngest son's every need was met!!!! The weekend was lovely - despite a rather wet Saturday! and our meal at the Marina restaurant overlooking the harbour was lovely. During the afternoon we were able to dry off back at Bentley Lodge and relax either in our rooms or the lovely little lounge area. Thanks again Kim and David for your warm welcome and little chats! We'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for Bentley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for the weekend 27/9 - 30/9. Lovely room, immaculately clean and decorated to a high standard. Room had tea & coffee facilities and also a little fridge which was a nice touch. David and Kim were super hosts, greeted us by name on our arrival and were very approachable, recommending places for us to eat and visit in Torquay. Breakfast was superb!!!! Huge choice and absolutely lovely. Really enjoyed it, set us up for the day. Loads of good things I could say on this place, lovely garden, pond, DVD's that you can borrow, lots of little extras in the room. I would definately recommend staying here and will return for another visit. The only thing to be aware of is that it is a 15/20 min or so walk into town, which was fine for us and it does say that on the website, just to be aware if you think members of your party may struggle with that. Overall a top B&B, lovely stay, thanks to David & Kim.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferret10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Immaculate accommodation, very friendly proprietors and lovely breakfast. Reasonably close to centre of Torquay. There is parking, a small lounge area and pleasant dining room. Garden is as immaculate as house and has decking, seating and fishpond - nice area to sunbathe. All in all excellent.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsBiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just come back from a three night stay at Bentley Lodge. We were thrilled with our room. The décor is lovely and everything is very clean and just perfect. Kim and David are welcoming hosts. The breakfasts are delicious and everything is very well organised. We just had a thoroughly brilliant time. The situation within the town is convenient for access to restaurants and the seafront and there is ample parking for the guests. Would recommend this B&B to everyone
Monica and Alan O'Dea

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We've returned from a 4 night stay in the Bentley Lodge and were very pleased with our stay. I think it's the little touches which make the stay that bit more special.. When we arrived we were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits in the garden, our room was lovely, well decorated, clean and cosy, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, we got a specially prepared breakfast for us each morning and plenty of tea, plus friendly service and advice on places to visit. We were there for our wedding anniversary, and were very touched to get a card on the day. The only very minor drawbacks/negatives I feel would be that it's quite a walk from the main centre but I have no doubts that this is only because of the giant breakfasts I had been eating and the fact that I'm quite lazy.. This was also a positive though because it meant it was quieter, also the TV played up a bit every now and again (probably because it was digital and lost signal) but how much time are you really going to spend watching TV when there's so many fun things to do?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Standards are high in this establishment. An eye for detail is shown not only through the cleanliness and organization in the guest house, but also through the additional facilities (ironing board, sewing kit...). The breakfast was excellent, and although other comments on trip advisor question the use of the breakfast form, it is used only to reduce wastage and thus has an effect on the room prices. The hosts were friendly, helpful and informative. On our next visit to Torquay the Bentley Lodge will be our first inquiry for room availability.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having just returned from a five night stay at this guest house David & Kim our hosts strive to make all their guests most welcome as on arrival we were greeted with freshly made pot of tea & biscuits which was served on the decked patio area of the very well maintained and laid out garden. Our room was excellently presented and was of a very high standard of decoration and cleanliness and very well furnished. Breakfast choices were excellent and always presented freshly cooked to your liking. We would not hesitate to return to this guest house again and would fully recommend to others looking for high specification of accommodation. The walk into town is approximately 20 minutes which is mostly level and easy, although the local bus service is extremely frequent which we used on most days leaving our car at the lodge's free car park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David19452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#74 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 149 in Torquay
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#6 of 149 in Torquay
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Lodge

Address: Bentley Lodge Tor Park Road, Torquay TQ2 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bentley Lodge... ...Award Winning 4 Star Silver Guest House...Open All Year A Lovely house that was built around 1900 and has been lovingly cared for. Your hosts Kim & David offer a genuine, warm and friendly welcome along with stylish, comfortable en-suite bedrooms and a freshly cooked breakfast (choice of menus) using local produce wherever possible. All contribute to give Bentley Lodge the feel of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bentley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Torquay
Bentley Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing