We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, would stay again”
Review of Hotel Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barton
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second visit, would stay again”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When we decided on a long weekend in Torquay we had no hesitation in booking Hotel Barton again.Clean and comfy bedroom, very good breakfast and great location.Free wi fi also.We had a room that was on the main road and if I was to be a little negative it would be that it was a little noisy during the early hours.
Look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardwickCobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    36
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
86
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel Barton was very well situated. We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival by Andrew and Helen. The room was great, very spacious, clean, tidy and modern with excellent en suite facilities. Breakfast was hot and plentiful with lots of choice to suit all needs. Would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to booking another short break next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Hotel Barton is at a good location in Torquay, at walking distance from the harbour and its many restaurants, the beach as well as some nice walking trails. There is a big parking space nearby that the hotel arranges at no cost.

Our room was fairly big, with a decent size bathroom (shower/ toilet) and was exceptionally clean. The bed and mattress are very good quality, and it all looked very well kept. There is a small but nice front garden where one can sit on sunny days, and the wifi (which has good speed) reaches there as well. We didn't have the wifi in the room but could use the dining room during the day if needed.

Breakfast is very good, with fresh fruit, cereals, bread etc as well as scrambled eggs, full english breakfast etc available.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and create a very nice atmosphere.

There is a small supermarket nearby, just down the street, and a lot of pubs and restaurants further down to the harbour. We tried quite a few and have only good experiences but would certainly recommend the Indian restaurant nearby (on the same side of the street, there is another one opposite the street which we didn't try so cannot comment on)

I would certainly stay again at this hotel if in the region.

Room Tip: Seemed to me most rooms are more or less similar size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepela24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Thanks Helen and Andrew, could not fault the excellent atmostphere . and the rooms were so clean They make a good team and would definately go again. Excellent in every way.. Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

best breakfast iv had,thy lovely and friendly.got car parking near.nothing was to much trouble for them.short walk down to the harbour and the great shops.its my forth stay in torquey.and my ist to stay here.will stay here again.lovely

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
07071964
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great hosts. Food was fantastic and fresh. very helpful. room was lovely. parking was safe. will definatley stay again.

Room Tip: close to harbour and food places without being right in the middle of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

myself and my hubby have just arrived home today from our stay at the hotel barton.......had a nice friendly welcome upon arrival from andy......and helen makes a mean full english breakfast kept us going for most of the day,the hotel is nice and clean and room was nicely decorated and well equiped. hotel barton is very well situated close to all ammenities wether it be girly shopping or a nice meal and only a 2 minute walk to the beach.we are looking forward to going back in september for our wedding anniversary.......
lisa and ian
hull

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#28 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Property: Hotel Barton
Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#27 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Michael & Tina will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing