We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Hotel Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barton
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
West Dorset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Pleasant, cheerful and helpful owners. Very good breakfasts. Rooms and public areas clean and bright. Pleased that we booked one of the larger rooms. Easy to walk to town centre and restaurants. Quite steep steps to access the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocJon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    34
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had a warm welcome when we arrived, parking wasnt a problem. The superior room was plenty big enough, with a massive bed!
Breakfast was also very nice, would definately stay again. Perfect location to explore surrounding areas.
Although not a problem for us the steps to the front may be a problem for some guests as tehy were very steep. However, access can be gained via the rear of the property

Room Tip: Steps to the front of the hotel may be diffcult for some guests as they were very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointedBandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a brilliant hotel. Very clean throughout and very good value for money. I stay fairly regularly as often head back to Torquay to visit family and friends and have always had a good stay. Location is top notch, just a few minutes walk down the hill to the harbour. Breakfast is also very nice.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTBADGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great find. Warm and welcoming. Can't fault it. All you need in a small hotel. Steps up to front may cause a problem but rear entrance is flat when approached via back lane. Breakfast excellent and can be varied from what is shown on menu. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDAVIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Booked a 7 night stay at Hotel Barton based on Trip Advisor reviews and the locality of the hotel. We are so glad we stayed here! Welcomed by Helen, who knocks up a brilliant full English breakfast btw, we felt right at home from the off. We had a great room (superior double), with a partial sea view and a massive shower. Our room was serviced every day, breakfast choices were plentiful and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Andrew was a very helpful host and shared local information and knowledge willingly. We loved how close to everything the hotel is and would definitely stay there again. Real value for money and worth every penny. Thanks to Andrew and Helen and keep on doing what you are doing cos you are definitely getting it right!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mylittlepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location, very warm and friendly welcome, very nice bedroom, excellent cooked breakfast. Excellent from A to Z!
Look no further if you are looking for a quiet, clean, elegant, comfortable, cozy, charming hotel in central Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubledeckerbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

As a local taxi driver, I get to here about places to eat and stay and have always heard good comments on this hotel. And now having had to stay here my self the comments were true. Very clean hotel and room, always had got water at different times of the day. Unfortunately I was up to early for breakfast but the reviews on here say how good it is. Overall anyone I pick up looking for a hotel I will be recommending Hotel Barton for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmxboys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#62 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Property: Hotel Barton
Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Michael & Tina will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing