We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barton
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location. Great little hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Two night stay confirmed the good reviews about this well located, friendly and good value hotel. The owners Andy and Helen really do go the extra mile in making their guests feel welcome. The rooms are well presented, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Tea making facilities are in every room which is nice. Quite a few steps up to the hotel entrance from the street but nothing that I would complain about. Secure parking provided free to guests is located about 150 yards from the hotel. Breakfasts are top notch. The full English is very good indeed. I would certainly return to The Hotel Barton again and would have no problem recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 has very large bed and room 6 looks out over the front and has a large space and very large s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    34
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We found Andy & Helen really accommodating, friendly and cheerful. The rooms are comfortable and I have to say very clean. The en suite had a nice sized shower, not a pokey little thing you can't move in! We had tea and coffee in the room. We were on the top floor so had lots of stairs to climb, not easy after such a wonderful breakfast! We chose the full English breakfast which was large, cooked to perfection and HOT (unusual in a hotel!). The dining room was bright and cheerful which made all the guests chatty, it was a really nice atmosphere! It's only 5 mins walk from the harbour and shops too. The hotel itself was very quiet although we were at the front and the noise from the main road was really bad until the early hours! We also had lots of noisy youngsters after the club and Bowling alley turned out! The Barton is on a steep hill and also has a lot of steps up to the front door as well as 37 stairs if you are on the top floor so be prepared if you have mobility problems! This said, we would definitely return. We enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: I think side and rear rooms, although wouldn't have a view, would be quieter at night. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banquebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here for a week in September 2013, and this is a wonderful little hotel. Andy and Helen are delightful and this really is a fantastic option.

The breakfast is excellent (bacon and eggs well cooked; good quality ingredients; arrives promptly).

It was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, the shower was excellent, the bed incredibly comfortable with the softest sheets I've ever encountered, and I heard no noise from other guests or from outside during my stay.

Great location just a five minute trot down into the harbour area (the nicest bit in my opinion).

Just fab - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagefringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed early September 2013 and had a good time. Great value for money, the hotel was clean and very friendly service. Bed and breakfast provided - excellent breakfasts - enough to feed a horse. Good location but be warned - steep steps at the front of the hotel. the owners were kind enough to swap rooms for mobility impaired guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we stayed 3 nights september 6th.in a budget room. the room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. shower room was modern and well fitted. Andy and Helen were very friendly and helpful. Good position five mins from the harbour with plenty of good restaurants closeby.
Would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights Aug 19th.Superb hotel room spotless breakfast was awesome and the loation being 5mins stroll was great.The owners Andy and Helen were superb and cant do enough for you.Will definatley stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham,UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our second stay here although we did not post a review last time.The Hotel Barton like many others in Torquay is situated up a slight hill and some steep steps and could cause problems for less able bodied people.However there is free private car parking both behind the hotel and a few minutes walk away on a bigger secure car park and we found the overall location to be ideal.Just a few minutes walk and you are in the harbour with its many pubs and restaurants water taxis and cruises and a few minutes further and you are in the town centre.The bus stops right outside the hotel giving easy access to many other nearby towns.
The owners Andrew and Helen are professional but down to earth, friendly and helpful and put on a breakfast that should keep you going well in to the afternoon!
Our room was clean and comfortable with a flat TV, well stocked tea tray and a really big window to see the blue sky every morning (we got lucky).The bathroom was a decent size with a really good powerful shower that was always hot.If we stay in Torquay again we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but the Hotel Barton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hudson Hotel
Hudson Hotel
#62 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barton

Property: Hotel Barton
Address: 543 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#28 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barton 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barton is a bright modern family run hotel, 300 yards from Torquay harbour. The hotel is light and airy, decorated in neutral colors in a fresh modern style. Michael & Tina will make every effort to make your stay a pleasurable one. Hotel Barton also caters for business visitors, with free Wifi internet access, photocopying and fax service also available.Located on a road leading from the harbour, with steps up to the front reception and bedrooms arranged over 3 floors. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, Digital TVs and hospitality trays. They are recently decorated and are fresh, bright and modern. Ideal for a holiday or short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Barton Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing