We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Coast Walking Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avron House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avron House
Ranked #33 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
“South Coast Walking Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We needed a central location for exploring the English Rivera and found the perfect place in Avron House. Lyn and Steve not only offered great hospitality but also provided expert advice on attractions in the area. Each morning Steve served a delicious breakfast that lasted us until midday and beyond. We spent 11 days at Avron House and wished it could have been longer. By the time we had to say goodbye we had become good friends. Whenever we're in the south of England we know we'll stay at this wonderful B&B again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reignwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of Avron House - it really is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and if we could review guests you would get 5 stars from us. We do try to make our visitors feel at home and we are always happy to suggest things to do when staying in Torquay - trouble is there are so many excellent points of interest where do you start! We do hope you get back to our 'neck of the woods' again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
93
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Lynn and Steve very welcoming and warm gave us a drink of coffee and made us feel relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble a refreshing change. We are and have already booked another short stay. The breakfasts was tasty.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to seeing you both again next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lyn and Steve the new proprietors real try to make your stay special. They are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. There is an adults only policy so no children to disturb your rest. It is situated in the middle of town about 15 mins walk from the shops at Torquay or the cliff tops at Babbacombe. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We appreciate you taking time out to write your review. When we took over Avron House at the end of last year we decided not to offer accommodation to children or pets. Not because we don't like them, we do, but we felt that as we are located in a peaceful location we should maintain the tranquility for our guests and, based upon the feedback from our guests so far, we know that we have made the right decision. Once again, thank you for your comments and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely warm welcome with tray of tea on arrival.nothing too much trouble for Lynn and Steve. Single rooms very clean with generous assortment of tray refreshments in there. They ask what you would like for your b'fast and time the night before which works well, and the b'fast is well cooked too. Very friendly couple who are interested in all their guests and try to be as helpful as possible. Would definitely recommend Avron to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for giving our Tripadvisor readers your thoughts on Avron House. We do believe that cleanliness is paramount and we take the time to ensure all our rooms are spotless - so pleasing to read that you noted this. Our breakfast order forms have been well received so far which allows us to prepare the cooked meals to order and, more importantly, fresh straight from the kitchen without any waiting time. So, while you are enjoying the cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts etc your full English or smoked salmon and scrambled egg is ready for the time you want it - perfect! We both hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the May bank holiday, really nice place to stay and the hosts, Lyn & Steve couldn't do enough for you. Would definitely stay there again if in that area. We arrived as strangers and left as friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We do strive to make our guests comfortable and feel at home - it's all part of service! Looking forward to accommodating you both again next time you are down here in South Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay with Lyn and Steve at the Avron House B&B. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered refreshments in the form of tea and coffee. from the time we arrived until the time we left nothing was to much trouble for sue and Steve from help with bags to the loan of a pair of scissor's.
rooms were very clean and bedding of a high standard,all in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and yes we would definitely stay here again and recommend the Avron to anyone.

Room Tip: For disabled access there are two ground floor rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We appreciate your review and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us here at Avron House. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time there is a celebration with your Torquay based relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

we based our choice of B&B on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were certainly not disappointed. A warm welcome, great food, lovely clean room and nothing too much trouble. Incredibly friendly hosts. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a little balcony with a very pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meads_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen T, Owner at Avron House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Avron House - we really do appreciate it. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.3 mi away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#73 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avron House

Property: Avron House
Address: 70 Windsor Road, Torquay TQ1 1SZ, England (Formerly Avron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian villa located in a quiet, tree-lined road opposite a wooded green. All our rooms enjoy modern en-suite facilities along with hospitality trays, complimentary toiletries, luxury bedding and free wi-fi. There is also free, unrestricted parking outside our property. A full English breakfast or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, cereals, fruit, yogurts, freshly-brewed coffee and a selection of teas are included in the room prices. There is also tea or coffee and homemade cake on arrival! Special offers always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avron Hotel Torquay
Avron House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing