We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!! Lovely place to stay.H”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was my first visit to Torquay and I couldnt have wished for a nicer place to stay. Everything about it was pure luxury. The rooms and decor are the highest standard and the cleanliness is exceptional ( I managed a hotel for 2 years and am incredibly picky when staying anywhere!). The breakfast was exceptional and Adam and his team were first class. Even the dogs were on there best behaviour! It was also so nice for our room to look exactly like it does on the internet! Thank you for letting me bring home some of the fantastic toileteries, I have already ordered more! We had a fantastic weekend and will be back soon. Thanks again .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinziP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

This was our 2nd visit and was even better than the last. Our room was comfortable and
every thing you could possibly need was provided. Lovely little touches like cotton buds in the bathroom and sweets by the bed. Located on a hill a little walk from the centre it was nice and quiet. Quite nice eating places 5 mins away. Breakfast amazing. Nothing too much trouble. Perfect for exploring the area. We will go there again and again and will recommend to anybody without any fear of being let down.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This was our third stay at the Somerville.When we phoned to book,tis time, we explained that we were planning to stay to see Elaine Paige in concert.The owner explained that the Somerville had an arrangement with the theatre,whereby they get good seats and the box office do not charge us the booking fee(£6).The seats were great.
The hotel is exquisitely furnished,each room having individual antique decor and drapes.Adam and partner give you a genuine welcome.
There are several teas,coffees,drinking chocolate and horlicks in the room and cookies and fresh milk in the hallway.
The Somervilles breakfast is "extensive" including real youghurt,musueli,cereals,toast and juices and a menu ranging from full English to eggs any style,served by very friendly staff who ensure that you leave fully topped up for the day.
Positioned just minutes from the harbour and within easy walking distance of the theatre,we would never stay anywhere else in Torquay and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjkTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This was our second visit to the Somerville and look forward to our next.
Fantastic place to stay ,Ideal location, Luxurious rooms, wonderful breakfast and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gadams20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

After scouring the net for relentless hours,we spotted this little gem,read some good reviews and booked up.
On arrival we were welcomed with a smile and (even tho Grant had dodgy foot at the time!)an explanation of facilities and surroundings.
Well talk about being made to feel at home,the hotel was warm,very comfortable and in an excellent position,just up a gentle slope from the town centre,perfectly situated.
All in all,my wife and i cannot stress what a lovely place this was to stay,and wish Adam and Grant all the best and continued succes of their hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is an excellent privately run hotel where everything, including decor and food is to the highest quality. The staff are very welcoming and friendly with the personal touch to your stay. Breakfasts were delicious with fresh ingredients, cooked to your specification. Lots of little extras which make you feel even more welcome from little bowls of sweets in the rooms to delicious cookies and fresh milk provided for guests to use in their rooms to make tea and coffee. Even a cafetiere and fresh coffee in the rooms for us coffee fans! Extremely comfy bed and very nice ensuite shower room with plush towels and bathrobes plus luxury toiletries! All in all a wonderful experience with the quality of a 5* hotel but the friendliness of a privately run small hotel. We couldnt find one negative thing said about the Somerville online and now I know why! It is only a short walk down one of Torquay's many hills to the harbour so an ideal location to explore the town on foot. Car parking a bonus too and with lots of suggestions from the owners where to explore and suggestions for good local restaurants it is ideal. Thank you for living up to our high expectations!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I chose the Somerville for a one-night stay in Torquay mainly on the strength of the good reports written recently by other guests - and I fully agree with them. Good location - beautiful rooms - superb breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidswebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 86 in Torquay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing