We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous and we'll definitely be visiting again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #9 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous and we'll definitely be visiting again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Polite, friendly and helpful but without being obtrusive. Luxurious with a real feel good factor. Spotlessly clean and excellent food. Our stay was perfect!

Room Tip: For a touch of luxury book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scousers_Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
742
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tadley hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We first stayed at The Somerville Hotel 7 years ago.We were attracted by the Free on site parking on a busy road. Adam & Grant had only recently become the new owners of a rather outdated Hotel but made us so welcome.7 years on what a difference. It is now a super Boutique Hotel with a very reasonable tariff. Lovely bedrooms full of nice little extra touches. lovely toiletries,tisses and cotton buds etc. Tray of assorted teas coffees and hot chocolate and a cafetiere to make fresh ground coffee too. Downstairs in the hall you can collect little jugs of fresh milk from a fridge and help yourself to cookies and fruit. Breakfast is delicious and served in the front sun lounge. Loads of delicious choices to eat.
And for the oldies amongst us just across the road is a bus stop to take you down to the sea front and then you can use your bus pass to go all over Torbay and forget the car for a while.
We will go back again.

Room Tip: All nice and some downstairs if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

When we first walked in didn`t quite know what to expect so many things to take in.The room was amazing very luxurious and very comfortable, the type of room you could stay in all day.The host was very helpful, shame we couldn`t have stayed longer but it was fully booked.So if you are off to Torquay just book into The Sommerville, we looked around quite a few and a lot are very tired .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Celebrated our Ruby Anniversary here and loved every minute! Warm welcome from Grant when we arrived who supplied us with. map and useful local information...nice touch. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was a luxury, sweets by the bedside,choice of mineral water,wonderful variety of toiletries, fluffy towels, bathrobes..I could go on and on...french door which opened on to the garden where we sat in the sun and enjoyed the complimentary home made cookies and fruit.....oh the attention to detail!
The Somerville is quite unique with its furnishings, has a bright airy conservatory where a freshly cooked breakfast is served including Bucks Fizz if you so wished. Both Grant and Adam make you feel very welcome here and cant do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one.
If you want a great place to stay with great hosts its got to be The Somerville!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and could not fault the Somerville at all. Our main requirements are easy parking, short walk to restaurants and sea front. The bonus here is that the hotel is superb. Rooms, breakfast, location all excellent and lots of nice little touches. Our first visit to Torquay and owner gave us a map and pointed out all the best places to visit and best restaurants. One hotel that we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardLongfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

This was my second trip back to the Somerville and as before everything was absoultely perfect. Adam and Grant are some of the most welcoming people I have ever met and nothing is too much trouble for either them or their team. I took work collegues including our Managing Director and everyone commented on the room decor, comfort as well as the cleanliness and warm personalities of the staff. I would recommend anyone to stay here it's not over expensive and well worth every penny. I'd stay nowhere else in Torquay every again. Mandy from Bristol

Room Tip: The Suites are beautiful, one even with a garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuggsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We spent endless amounts of time looking at hotels and were getting tired of trying to find something special. I stubbled across 'The Somerville' and as soon as i saw the pictures and other reviews i booked straight away. Me and my girlfriend stayed in the 'Somerville suite' which was excellent! The bed was so comfy and they even gave us a bottle of wine because it was my girlfriends birthday!

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff were great , very thoughtful and proffesional!

Room Tip: Get the 'Somerville Suite'!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing