We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wells
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My partner and I absolutely loved the Somerville and would certainly stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
797
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Somerville for a weekend and found it to be very good indeed. The rooms are immaculate and decorated to a very high standard (not modern looking but very good quality).

the B&B is fairly high up the road, so if mobility is an issue, then a taxi may be required.

Breakfast was also excellent.

All round a very sound choice in Torquay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are delighted the guests had such a good time and enjoyed themselves with us. Torquay is built on seven hills and so they tend to be a fact of life ... mind you Torquay residents are a long lived bunch so they might be doing us good. Most guests cope with our relatively modest hill as it is only a few minutes walk from the town and harbour.

Our rooms are modern in the sense that they have all been refurbished in the last couple of years and have the very latest things guests would expect suchg as LCD TV's ipod docking stations etc but our style is deliberately inspired by classic French and Italian with a little colonial thrown in.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on friday and we didnt know what to expect as we always stay at hotels but this B&B was fantastic and has definatley changed our minds about B&B's...
As soon as we arrived there was free parking and a very warm welcoming...they asked if we needed a hand with carrying anything...very friendly...we were then taken to our room which was luxurious and very well presented with all the little homely touches...it was immaculate and very clean...the bed was sooo comfortable which felt like Egyptian cotton...then breakfast was very nice and all fresh, they cut all the fat off and did little touches like putting the beans in a separate pot to stop the sauce getting on the rest of the food....they would go well out of their way for you but make you feel like it was no skin off their nose...absolutely loved staying there..would highly recommend to anyone !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Once again we would like to thank our guests for posting such a generous review. The wonderful responses from our guests spur us on still further to improve what we do. We are delighted that today we have finished the refurb of our junior suite (Room 7 The Torwood Suite). we are pleased with the result but the real judges will be the guests who experience what we have created. Incidentally, this is the first room that is equiped with its own silent running mini fridge and these will appear in our other suites over the next few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My Husband and I have visited The Somerville about 5 times and have always found the experience truly amazing. I was born and brought up in Torquay though had to leave my beloved birthplace through marriage over 40 yeras ago! We like to make regular visits to Torquay and found this fantastic establishment on the net. All the excellent reviews are spot on and Adam and Grant provide an exceptional service which is second to none. All the many accolades are justly deserved and show the tireless dedication by the owners to their business.and more importanly, to their clientele. The Hotel is luxuriously appointed and shows impeccable taste in decor and keen attention to detail. The rooms are beautifully appointed and with the most up to date en suite facilities. The breakfasts are well worth mentioning as they are quite outstanding in terms of quality with the very best ingredients used and with a choice to suit all tastes. The service is warm and friendly and Adam and Grant are charming hosts who go out of their way to please their guests. We cannot contemplate staying anywhere else when in Torquay and The Somerville, to us, already feels like our second home the minute we cross its threshold. Our warmest Congratulations to Adam and Grant for what they have already achieved and our very good wishes for their continued success..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrabourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on Friday 2nd March 2012 and have to say what a great place it is. Very friendly welcome, fresh milk and cookies for the room and a great introduction to Torquay.
Comfortable room with all amenities you would expect, superb bed and 100% clean.
Breakfast on Saturday was lovely with a good choice of cereals and fruit etc to start followed by full english with not a drop of grease in sight.
Leaf tea and proper toast served in the conservatory soaking up the morning sun.

Thanks for a great stay, we will try and come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for two nights and the hotel is superb. The room we had was extremely comfy and we really liked the small touches like the jelly beans. The full breakfast was excellent and the service was great. If you get a chance visit this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woollyp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from a one night stay. Definately will be returning as everything about this hotel was superb. Well done to the owners who really have put a lot of effort in it all. One of the Best hotels I'v stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing