We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This really is an excellent Hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #9 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
625 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“This really is an excellent Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I couldn't really fault this place, Great location, great service, nice room and fantastic breakfast.
What makes a hotel stand out in a crowded market is good management and attention to detail, this place is well run and someone has paid a great deal of attention to the detail. The greeting was excellent, I was taken to the "Garden Suite" and every detail of the room(s) explained.The hospitality tray was great, and fresh cookies were available in the foyer, I loved the oversize bath and complete with TV, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. I stay in hotels most weeks, and I usually can't wait to check out, but with this one I honestly wanted to stay for the week !.
Brilliant - get the next train to Torquay !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
742
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Divasoulqueen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My partner treated me to a few days in Devon to celebrate the above. We brought along our 5 month old son too! They supplied a lovely travel cot with clean bedding, that my son simply loved! My partner honestly, could have not done better! I have to say that The Somerville was the best B&B I've EVER stayed at. It was first class service all the way. From our greeting (which informed us of complimentary cookies) to the suite we stayed in and the breakfast in the morning. I could not fault this establishment if I tried. The decor is flawless, they've thought of every item you could possibly need. The finishing touches in the bathroom were so welcomed. Having stayed in a suite, there was TV in the bathroom, which is the epitome of luxury in my book. The breakfast was superior to any breakfast weve eaten (and we've eaten a few) everything was quality, and every mouthful had me saying 'Mm mm, good'. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay here, don't hesitate. Book. We shall definitely return when our little fella is a little older.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you want that 'extra bit'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaSoulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This Hotel far outdid itself in our estimation.The staff were all so helpful and polite,the breakfast was excellent and the standard of the rooms was nothing short of superb.
We followed the recommendations of our host and visited three restaurants in the area,"Jasmines" Thai cuisine, "Ocean" Indian and "Jingles" Texmex, all provided excellent food at reasonable prices. Our particular favorite was "Jingles" where we eventually managed to finish an enormous portion of seared tuna on a bed of black bean mash with stir fried vegetables!!
Back to the Somerville, the breakfast choice was varied and of excellent quality and once again the service was superb.
A few weeks ago we stayed for a night at the Ritz in London which was amazing, as you would expect it to be. The Somerville was a minature version of the Ritz ,within the confines of its small yet cosy interior it provided a level of service far and above what you would normally expect from a small hotel and at the same time the informalness made the experience all the more relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogetSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is the 4th we have visited the Somerville,it just gets better with each visit.
One would be hard pressed to find any to better the Somerville.From arrival to
vacating nothing was to much trouble by all the staff.The room was exellent
spotlessly clean, could not fault anything.
WELL DONE THE SOMERVILLE.

Room Tip: You won't beat this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colesey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a really lovely stay at the Somerville, we stayed in room 8 on first floor at the front of the building and even though the room is at the front on a main road you would think it would be noisy, but it wasn't, very relaxing room/bed indeed!
This is not your normal run of the mill B&B and for the extra little bit of money you have to pay, it is definitely worth it and good value for money.
I would tell you everything about all the little touches and extras they do but why spoil the surprise. Dont bother booking anywhere else.

Room Tip: I can only comment on room 8, i would happily stop in this room again. It's on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07adventure07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Only stayed one night,and having travelled from liverpool we didnt get there till late evening.We were greeted promptly by Grant,who showed each of us to our lovely rooms.The rooms were lovely, definatley 5star,breakfast was excellent from the food to the service.Just wished we could of stayed longer to enjoy it fully!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holliemitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have been going for many years and never had chance to say what a great chill out it is for us. We love being pampered, the decor, superb bed and bedding and the high standards that they set. The little extras, like cookies and milk to take to the room, jelly beans by the bedside etc, all lovely little touches. Breakfast is a dream with a great choice. We also take advantage of the loyalty discounts to try all the different suites. Wish we could get there more often. As we said, we have been going for many years now and it just gets better. Parking is plentiful too.Try walking up the hill (10 good minutes) to the Kents pub and the Fountain next door for food. The best Exmoor fillet steak ever! Managed to leave the pub (real ale) and get to Ansteys Cove this time too!

Room Tip: They are all excellent. Upgrade to a suite though for that little extra treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing