We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a freindly B&B”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #8 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay in a freindly B&B”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here over the Easter weekend and had a great time. Very friendly reception and owner. very nice room, spacious with good bathroom and facilities. Very clean with great little additional touches like sweets in the room and Easter eggs for all and a great breakfast too. The owner has great suggestions for restaurants and bars which I suggest you follow and they all proved right. We had a fun stay and would definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but only one family room I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
765
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I traveled to The Somerville with my boyfriend after a colleague at work could no longer go. I could not fault this B&B in any way. We were greeted by Grant (I think) and we were shown where the fresh milk and freshly baked cookies were before being taken to our room. Such a comfortable, friendly, hospitable place. We were also advised on the best places to eat and drink, seeing as we were there for the Easter Break. I seriously cannot fault this B&B at all and I and my boyfriend have traveled extensively throughout the world. The customer service was second to none, and I loved the fact that on Easter Sunday there were so many easter eggs and chocolates laid out on the table near the front door in a wonderful presentation that my boyfriend thought he'd gone to heaven (unfortunately I'm not much of a chocolate eater so he had my share!) . Please don't hesitate to book the Somerville..... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spammie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is one hotel that is not being exagerated about on trip advisor. It is supremely comfortable, recently modernised and the rooms are very impressive. The staff could not be more helpful, we followed their recomendations on local restaurants and were never disappointed. The breakfasts were fantastic and with low food miles guilt free! The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Torquay harbour and there are plenty of local attractions to keep you busy. I will definately be staying again

Room Tip: Ask for the somerville suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
654 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I couldn't really fault this place, Great location, great service, nice room and fantastic breakfast.
What makes a hotel stand out in a crowded market is good management and attention to detail, this place is well run and someone has paid a great deal of attention to the detail. The greeting was excellent, I was taken to the "Garden Suite" and every detail of the room(s) explained.The hospitality tray was great, and fresh cookies were available in the foyer, I loved the oversize bath and complete with TV, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. I stay in hotels most weeks, and I usually can't wait to check out, but with this one I honestly wanted to stay for the week !.
Brilliant - get the next train to Torquay !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divasoulqueen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My partner treated me to a few days in Devon to celebrate the above. We brought along our 5 month old son too! They supplied a lovely travel cot with clean bedding, that my son simply loved! My partner honestly, could have not done better! I have to say that The Somerville was the best B&B I've EVER stayed at. It was first class service all the way. From our greeting (which informed us of complimentary cookies) to the suite we stayed in and the breakfast in the morning. I could not fault this establishment if I tried. The decor is flawless, they've thought of every item you could possibly need. The finishing touches in the bathroom were so welcomed. Having stayed in a suite, there was TV in the bathroom, which is the epitome of luxury in my book. The breakfast was superior to any breakfast weve eaten (and we've eaten a few) everything was quality, and every mouthful had me saying 'Mm mm, good'. You will NOT be disappointed with your stay here, don't hesitate. Book. We shall definitely return when our little fella is a little older.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you want that 'extra bit'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaSoulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This Hotel far outdid itself in our estimation.The staff were all so helpful and polite,the breakfast was excellent and the standard of the rooms was nothing short of superb.
We followed the recommendations of our host and visited three restaurants in the area,"Jasmines" Thai cuisine, "Ocean" Indian and "Jingles" Texmex, all provided excellent food at reasonable prices. Our particular favorite was "Jingles" where we eventually managed to finish an enormous portion of seared tuna on a bed of black bean mash with stir fried vegetables!!
Back to the Somerville, the breakfast choice was varied and of excellent quality and once again the service was superb.
A few weeks ago we stayed for a night at the Ritz in London which was amazing, as you would expect it to be. The Somerville was a minature version of the Ritz ,within the confines of its small yet cosy interior it provided a level of service far and above what you would normally expect from a small hotel and at the same time the informalness made the experience all the more relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogetSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol.
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is the 4th we have visited the Somerville,it just gets better with each visit.
One would be hard pressed to find any to better the Somerville.From arrival to
vacating nothing was to much trouble by all the staff.The room was exellent
spotlessly clean, could not fault anything.
WELL DONE THE SOMERVILLE.

Room Tip: You won't beat this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colesey247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing