We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Somerville on 30th July for 2 nights. It was the first time we had stayed here and after reading reviews on here we were looking forward to it. We certainly weren't disappointed, it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the owners, a very friendly guy who gave us every bit of information we could possibly need including information about breakfast and places to visit in Torquay. We were even given a map with attractions on it! The owner also showed us to our room and on the way we were informed about fresh milk and cookies that are left for guests to help themselves to! These were right next door to our room (The Courtyard Suite) so very easy to help ourselves!

The Courtyard Suite is a lovely room and I was impressed at how spotlessly clean it was. It was quite spacious and had a small private courtyard outside with a seating area, ideal for chilling out. The tea and coffee facilities were also excellent with sachets of alternative teas (such as peppermint and lemon), Horlicks and Aero hot chocolate, as well as tea and coffee. We were also very pleased to find some complimentary toiletries in the double shower room (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotion, soap) and also a small bowl of jelly babies next to the bed! It was the small touches like this, as well as the excellent service, that really made us feel welcome as guests.

Breakfast was the best I had ever had anywhere. I had eggs benedict on both mornings and it was absolutely fantastic. There is a good range to choose from on the menu and there is also a buffet style continental breakfast that guests can help themselves to. Choices here included a variety of cereals, fruit salad, fruit compote, croissants, smoothies and fresh juice. The service at breakfast was also excellent on both days.

We also had the pleasure of meeting Oscar and Hector! Two cute and very friendly dogs. We were actually greeted by them and a 3rd dog in the gardens as we were leaving!

Overall, this hotel is excellent and thoroughly deserves every one of it's 5 stars :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had to stay at the Somerville on my own whilst on business in the area and the welcome was lovely. I like the touch of fresh milk and cookies being available at all times (hate UHT milk) A mini cafetiere in the room with ground coffee is also very nice. The room was stunning - beautiful ornate furniture and all the extras you could possibly need. Lovely bathroom - spotlessly clean with high quality toiletries - most welcome.
The breakfast was exceptional - a fabulous selection of fruit compote, cereals, yoghurt etc followed by a freshly cooked hot breakfast. I had an omelette and it was cooked to perfection.
I would not hesitate to stay here in the future. A truly beautiful place - Adam and Grant should be very proud. (Loved the local restaurant reviews - extremely honest and very funny!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collierfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

First impressions are always important, you will be impressed straight away. You are greeted with a genuine warm friendly welcome from Adam or Grant. Shown to your room where you can relax in luxurious comfort and facilities. The breakfast is outstanding, there is so much to choose from. The staff are so courteous and professional, nothing is too much trouble. The Hotel has a pleasant outlook over the town, a 5 minute walk away. You'll meet two little charmers who you will fall in love with, Hector and Oscar. This was our 3rd stay at The Somerville, a different room each time, each one slightly different but all of exceptional high standard. Thanks to Adam and Grant and staff for making our stay so enjoyable, again.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a fantastic time when we stayed at The Somerville. We were made very welcome by Adam and Grant and their staff. The breakfasts were fantastic, as was their advice on where to visit and places to eat. Our room was extremely comfortable and beautiful. Oscar and Hector were also delightful and were very entertaining. There are several very good restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk and the front and marina are also very close. So in summary, a wonderful place to stay in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Enjoy your stay, outstanding value for money. Hospitality and genuine welcome, with fresh milk and home made cookie for first cuppa on arrival in the room.
Breakfast on offer with a real choice, top class with a relaxed atmosphere and offered extra toast, coffee, tea. Just lovely to be treated with a professional but not clinical customer service.
Well Done, looking forward to seeing you again.Soon.

Room Tip: If the weather looks wet, book a suite and sit on comfortable settee and listen to your own music us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

what can we say! Grant and Adam made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped through the door! Their attention to detail is second to none! Every room is of an exceptionally high standard and the service is impeccable! I highly recommend this fantastic place if you want superb accommodation service and facilities. Thank you guys for making our stay so memorable! We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veedubya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What a truly warm and friendly establishment with a professional yet friendly service. We were greeted and welcomed by Adam who made us feel immediately at ease, we were personally taken to our room and shown around and made sure we were happy. You could really see how important it was for them to make everyone who stayed at the Somerville feel relaxed and there wasn't anything you couldn't have (they had thought of everything!) The room was of exceptionally high standard and the breakfast was amazing. We have a 14 month old daughter and every effort was made to ensure she was catered for. Excellent stay and we wish you every success from Mr and Mrs George.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleysara31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and we were delighted to be able to welcome you all to Torquay.

We all know that the 2012 summer weather hasn't been all that it could have been but there are still plenty of things for visitors to do and plenty of ways to enjoy yourself. For example, we had a sneaky afternoon off on Tuesday and went up to Dartmoor (Hay Tor) with the dogs. It's a magical place to explore whatever the weather....

Rest assured, we wil continue to work our socks off for our guests to make a visit here this summer memorable for all the right reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 86 in Torquay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing