We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIVINE !”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #8 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DIVINE !”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband booked this for a short break and it was one of the best surprises ever. A warm welcome although we were too early to book in and they were still servicing the rooms. A pot of coffee provided much needed refreshment whilst we waited a few minutes for the suite to be checked before we could deposit our belongings. Amazing decor and the attention to detail made us realise that we had become accustomed to bland hotel chains and that we had found an absolute gem here. The rooms were superb, immaculately clean, lovely bed linens and a TV for every occasion including the bathroom! If we were thrilled with the rooms the breakfast surpassed every expectation - fresh, beautifully cooked to order hot food along with smoothies, fresh fruit, cereals and pastries. An honest review of the local eateries was very welcome and helped avoid costly mistakes of an evening. The review of the NO 7 fish restaurant was spot on and a great meal was enjoyed by all. This was our first but definitely not our last visit to The Somerville.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is superb, patio doors on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
766
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second visit to the Somerville and just like the first time it was fantastic. I was a little concerned that things may have lapsed since our initial visit, but it was exactly like the first time. The suite we stayed in was spotless and all the comforts from the first time remained the same, jelly beans and fab toileteries, fresh milk and homemade cookies.. ..
The television in the bathroom is my favourite luxury and I cannot wait to go back next year. I love everything about the Somerville and will spend the next 12 months looking for items to furnish my own home in the same fabulous decor !! Many thanks to Adam and Grant for making our second stay as lovely as the first. Excellent is the only word the somerville needs!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinziP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We only had 1 night at the Somerville, but booked a suite for that added bit of luxury anyway. In fact, the cost of this was real value for money. The property is a 10 min walk to the harbour and seafront.

We were greeted warmly and shown the property and the room, which were absolutely perfect. The property itself has some rather opulent decor and ornaments in places - possibly quite kitsch - but dont let this put you off. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and pleasant, and well supplied. We had 3 TVs - one of which was in the bathroom along with a waterproof remote. There was also a good Roberts radio - no ipod dock though. Great in-room tea/coffee tray, with fresh milk and biscuits. There was free bottled water in an in-room fridge. The bathroom was excellent - lovely bath, with rubber ducks, good toiletries, excellent walk in shower.

The bed was super comfortable which afforded a great nights sleep. Super pillows. Our room was to the rear of the property overlooking the garden and car parking area. It was nice and quiet, and even though the property is on the Babbacombe road it is not disturbed by traffic because it is well offset and has a good garden.

Breakfast is a sheer delight - a brilliant help yourself selection of fruit, cereals etc etc and on top of this there is a cooked order of your choice. Quality and presentation is first class as was the service.

We will need to go back to the Somerville.

Room Tip: Take a suite - extra room for a few pounds more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband booked a surprise stay at The Somerville last weekend, having heard good things...not disappointed. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! I would consider booking another stay just to catch up on sleep! Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was so well equipped...jelly beans by the bed...it was as if they'd read my mind! The owner sent my husband a comprehensive list of good and not so good places to eat, really useful and helped us make a great choice with The Elephant. Wish we could have stayed longer; breakfast was the best I've had in some time, smoothie shots a brilliant idea. Seriously cannot recommend this place enough; great to see small places where they really know what good customer service means.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What can i say this place is wonderful! Our room was spotless and beautifully furnished, all the staff and management were lovely and couldn't do enough for you and as for the breakfast the choice and quality was amazing. The only disappointment was that we weren't there longer! Thankyou everyone at The Somerville.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modeDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Somerville hotel 31July to 5th Aug and had good time at this 1st class hotel everywhere clean, and the staff were very helpfull and friendly.
It,s only 5 mins to the town centre and 2 mins to the bus stop.
We have been to Torquay a few times and this by far the best hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night while visiting friends in the area. Experience has taught us always to look for small "boutique" or "art" hotels and this visit really supported that approach. All the positive reviews we read were fully supported - great location, really comfortable rooms, tremendous service, taste and attention to detail all made for a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable stay. We will certainly try to use again whenever we are in the area and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#3 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing