We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but something lacking”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Make no mistake, this is a very nice place to spend a few nights. It is well located and comfortable, breakfasts are good and the place spotlessly clean. It is within easy walk of the harbour (5 mins), the museum, the Orange Tree, Kents pub, Amici and the Elephant. The decor is splendid and the parking free and adequate. Thus I feel like a real curmudgeon by not giving it a maximum score. Perhaps Grant and Adam are a little tourist weary at this time of the summer (mid-Aug) and lacked sparkle and warmth, whatever it was it was tangible. The rooms are sumptuous, the jelly babies/jelly beans beside the bed a nice touch, the milk and cookies great and the eggs royale splendid. There is so much to admire here and the price is not extortionate, but it just lacked a beating heart and the impression that at this time of the year that cusomers were still as welcome as they were at the start of the season.

Room Tip: The garden suite (room 12) costs a little more but will certainly add a feeling of your holiday bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheMuffinManLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for all the nice comments you made about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed so much of what we are able to provide and that you appeared to make the very most of your stay in Torquay.

In terms of your criticism of us for lacking warmth and for appearing jaded in August. We are really very disappointed that you felt this since we want our guests to experience the same levels of service from us whatever the time of year. I have to say we don't feel jaded and we still have bags of energy and enthusiasm to take us through what's left of the summer and beyond and we do hope that other guests will find us warm and energized.

Incidentally, Torquay now has an additional reason to visit since the giant Olympic Wheel from the Olympic Park in London has now relocated and has been constructed on the seafront near the Pavilion. It will stay for two months. So why not plan a visit in September or October........ fantastic moths on The English Riviera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

My husband booked this for a short break and it was one of the best surprises ever. A warm welcome although we were too early to book in and they were still servicing the rooms. A pot of coffee provided much needed refreshment whilst we waited a few minutes for the suite to be checked before we could deposit our belongings. Amazing decor and the attention to detail made us realise that we had become accustomed to bland hotel chains and that we had found an absolute gem here. The rooms were superb, immaculately clean, lovely bed linens and a TV for every occasion including the bathroom! If we were thrilled with the rooms the breakfast surpassed every expectation - fresh, beautifully cooked to order hot food along with smoothies, fresh fruit, cereals and pastries. An honest review of the local eateries was very welcome and helped avoid costly mistakes of an evening. The review of the NO 7 fish restaurant was spot on and a great meal was enjoyed by all. This was our first but definitely not our last visit to The Somerville.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is superb, patio doors on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second visit to the Somerville and just like the first time it was fantastic. I was a little concerned that things may have lapsed since our initial visit, but it was exactly like the first time. The suite we stayed in was spotless and all the comforts from the first time remained the same, jelly beans and fab toileteries, fresh milk and homemade cookies.. ..
The television in the bathroom is my favourite luxury and I cannot wait to go back next year. I love everything about the Somerville and will spend the next 12 months looking for items to furnish my own home in the same fabulous decor !! Many thanks to Adam and Grant for making our second stay as lovely as the first. Excellent is the only word the somerville needs!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinziP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We only had 1 night at the Somerville, but booked a suite for that added bit of luxury anyway. In fact, the cost of this was real value for money. The property is a 10 min walk to the harbour and seafront.

We were greeted warmly and shown the property and the room, which were absolutely perfect. The property itself has some rather opulent decor and ornaments in places - possibly quite kitsch - but dont let this put you off. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and pleasant, and well supplied. We had 3 TVs - one of which was in the bathroom along with a waterproof remote. There was also a good Roberts radio - no ipod dock though. Great in-room tea/coffee tray, with fresh milk and biscuits. There was free bottled water in an in-room fridge. The bathroom was excellent - lovely bath, with rubber ducks, good toiletries, excellent walk in shower.

The bed was super comfortable which afforded a great nights sleep. Super pillows. Our room was to the rear of the property overlooking the garden and car parking area. It was nice and quiet, and even though the property is on the Babbacombe road it is not disturbed by traffic because it is well offset and has a good garden.

Breakfast is a sheer delight - a brilliant help yourself selection of fruit, cereals etc etc and on top of this there is a cooked order of your choice. Quality and presentation is first class as was the service.

We will need to go back to the Somerville.

Room Tip: Take a suite - extra room for a few pounds more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband booked a surprise stay at The Somerville last weekend, having heard good things...not disappointed. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! I would consider booking another stay just to catch up on sleep! Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was so well equipped...jelly beans by the bed...it was as if they'd read my mind! The owner sent my husband a comprehensive list of good and not so good places to eat, really useful and helped us make a great choice with The Elephant. Wish we could have stayed longer; breakfast was the best I've had in some time, smoothie shots a brilliant idea. Seriously cannot recommend this place enough; great to see small places where they really know what good customer service means.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What can i say this place is wonderful! Our room was spotless and beautifully furnished, all the staff and management were lovely and couldn't do enough for you and as for the breakfast the choice and quality was amazing. The only disappointment was that we weren't there longer! Thankyou everyone at The Somerville.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modeDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Somerville hotel 31July to 5th Aug and had good time at this 1st class hotel everywhere clean, and the staff were very helpfull and friendly.
It,s only 5 mins to the town centre and 2 mins to the bus stop.
We have been to Torquay a few times and this by far the best hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
536 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money in 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing