We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else!”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a superb hotel - very friendly; clean; rooms beautifully decorated and equipped; breakfasts are freshly prepared with only the best ingredients -the hotel is relaxing and comfortable and the location ideal being just a 10 minute walk from town centre, harbour and sea front. Attention to detail and little touches make this an unusually perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
798
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

What a gem!! Thank you both for such a lovely stay. Having found myself late in the day in the area, without accommodation I booked two nights & have to say as a 'single female", looking for a safe & welcoming environment, with just the most comfortable's night sleep, I could not have found better. Delightful hosts & a truly outstanding breakfast, don't bother with 4/5 star hotels you are better off here, Decor superb, immaculate bathroom & bedroom, tastefully decorated. Exceptional personal touches from both of the hosts. I truly wish them well & cannot wait to visit again with my partner

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I will start by saying we did not stay overnight but our friends from San Diego California USA did.
They stayed in the Somerville Suite and we visted them and it was lovely. They only had one nights stay and our visit was a real surprise. As we had little time in the area to show them anything we asked the staff to help us with recommendations. Not only did they help but they booked the trips and got the Angel cafe to serve a late Devon Cream tea for us as we had a Kents Cavern trip booked. Our friends told us everything was absolutely great. They went the extra mile for us and certainly exceeded our expectation when it came to service. The TA ratings are right on the button for this hotel make no mistake.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howellsk1984
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights,and I have to say it was pretty much perfect. The room was very impressive and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was just as impressive. Loved the little touches of fruit and cookies available throughout the day-a great snack for my wife. We also liked the fresh milk we could use for the tea and coffee in our room. The breakfast was another highlight with many options available. We did have a few small issues, our front door key snapped in the lock as we were given a bent key, and secondly our electric went off on the morning we were checking out which made showering quite difficult in the dark. However, both issues were resolved quickly. The only other thing I would say is that the water pressure is not great and it took about 40mins to run a bath and the shower not the most powerful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howellsk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for your appreciation of our efforts. I'm glad we were able to respond to the minor mishap with the key promptly as well as the fused lights. Our modern fuse board will trip if a bulb blows or a fuse goes elsewhere on the circuit and it does happen from time to time but it does just prove that the system is safe.

With regards water pressure, our cold water pressure is fierce and enters the building in excess of 11 bar. We actually have to fit special valves to tame it so that our showers can cope. However, I do accept that if everyone is up and showering at the same time water pressure maybe affected. Our hot water pressure is much more moderate and although it may take a while for a bath to fill, I think forty minutes is a teeny weeny exaggeration, when I've done it before 12 or 13 minutes is the longest it's taken. The good news is that we have two socking big water tanks and we never run out of hot water....

We'd be delighted to welcome you back and don't forget that at ALL times of the year we have special exclusive returning guest discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great place to stay. Can't think of any negatives and would recommend without hesitation! The owners are very attentive and have spent a lot of time and attention to the detail of the decor. The breakfasts are great, the location ideal and the accommodation superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This time I travelled without my husband and wanted to be in a hotel that was of a high standard and safe. I got more than I could have ever hoped for. Like other reviews before mine I find it difficult to add to the praises already bestowed upon this bijoux "boutique" hotel. Every single positive comment and detail that has been said is true. I lived in Torquay for many years and try to visit as often as possible, now I know that this wonderful hotel exists I will be able to visit many more times. Thanks Grant and Adam for taking so much pride in what you do. All the time and thought you have put into those little extra details add up to one very big positive. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Never_Forgotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Arrived at The Somerville with my girlfriend and our friends, another couple, for the Easter weekend, in two double rooms. From the minute we checked in Grant was friendly and helpful, offering advice on where to eat and where to go locally. The room was, well appointed, very tastefully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. Grants dinner tip was a fish restaurant, Number 7. He booked it for us and it was as good as he'd promised us that it would be. Breakfast was first class with a wide selection. It was well cooked and beautifully served. As a final touch Adam and Grant gave our ladies a Lindt chocolate bunny each! Without reservation, we all said that we'd highly recommend The Somerville to anyone and that we would not even bother to consider anywhere else should we return to Torquay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyshairyteabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing