We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food, will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #9 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I called The Somerville late afternoon on a Thursday looking for a last minute deal for the following night and The Somerville did not disappoint - we got a great deal for the Junior Suite with the courtyard, a beautiful room.

On arrival Grant made us feel really welcome, he gave us a map and highlighted places to go. The B&B is set in small but very well tended and beautiful gardens which they have obviously worked hard on. There is a car park to the rear which is excellent - close and free for guests. The interiors are opulant but not garish, good quality and a high hotel standard. The cleanliness is to such a high standard, I can't stress enough how impeccable the place is - especially for a building that is otherwise fairly very ordinary (i.e. not listed or of any such character). They've made this place a little hideaway paradise of luxury.

We spent much of our time out of the hotel but the time we spent in the room was extremely comfortable with all of our needs at hand. The in-room tea and coffee also included decaf coffee (I can't drink caffinated coffee) so to have offerings other than just regular tea and coffee was a bonus. Wi-fi has good signal too - another good bonus.

Leaving the best until last....the breakfast was one of the best I've had, especially for a B&B. The room itself is light and airy and has a view down towards town. The buffet is healthy and fresh and the cooked choices are hard to find something that's missing. My husband and I both had eggs on toast (scrambled for him, poached for me), there's a choice of breads (not just white or brown), the eggs were cooked perfectly and were really fresh and tasty. Andy could not have been more accomodating for breakfast, we also overheard some veggies behind us, they didn't want what was on offer but a mix of stuff which Andy was only too happy to do.

We only stayed one night and if the following morning had given us sunshine we may have been tempted to stay another night impromtu but we left - and we will return!

Highly recommended.

PS sorry for some of the photos not being the right way around - TA uploaded them that way?!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolmarmitelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
755
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

5 stars says it all.....welcoming, comfortable, friendly, gorgeous room, immaculately clean and a great breakfast on both days. Location is excellent, just a short walk from town, and with parking makes this a fabulous base for a weekend exploring Devon. All this and the added bonus of cookies, fab toiletries and two adorable four legged friends to complete a lovely weekend away. Thanks Adam and Grant, for a lovely stay, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Loved the Courtyard Room for a little bit of outside space in the right weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a superb hotel - very friendly; clean; rooms beautifully decorated and equipped; breakfasts are freshly prepared with only the best ingredients -the hotel is relaxing and comfortable and the location ideal being just a 10 minute walk from town centre, harbour and sea front. Attention to detail and little touches make this an unusually perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

What a gem!! Thank you both for such a lovely stay. Having found myself late in the day in the area, without accommodation I booked two nights & have to say as a 'single female", looking for a safe & welcoming environment, with just the most comfortable's night sleep, I could not have found better. Delightful hosts & a truly outstanding breakfast, don't bother with 4/5 star hotels you are better off here, Decor superb, immaculate bathroom & bedroom, tastefully decorated. Exceptional personal touches from both of the hosts. I truly wish them well & cannot wait to visit again with my partner

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
427 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I will start by saying we did not stay overnight but our friends from San Diego California USA did.
They stayed in the Somerville Suite and we visted them and it was lovely. They only had one nights stay and our visit was a real surprise. As we had little time in the area to show them anything we asked the staff to help us with recommendations. Not only did they help but they booked the trips and got the Angel cafe to serve a late Devon Cream tea for us as we had a Kents Cavern trip booked. Our friends told us everything was absolutely great. They went the extra mile for us and certainly exceeded our expectation when it came to service. The TA ratings are right on the button for this hotel make no mistake.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howellsk1984
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights,and I have to say it was pretty much perfect. The room was very impressive and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was just as impressive. Loved the little touches of fruit and cookies available throughout the day-a great snack for my wife. We also liked the fresh milk we could use for the tea and coffee in our room. The breakfast was another highlight with many options available. We did have a few small issues, our front door key snapped in the lock as we were given a bent key, and secondly our electric went off on the morning we were checking out which made showering quite difficult in the dark. However, both issues were resolved quickly. The only other thing I would say is that the water pressure is not great and it took about 40mins to run a bath and the shower not the most powerful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howellsk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for your appreciation of our efforts. I'm glad we were able to respond to the minor mishap with the key promptly as well as the fused lights. Our modern fuse board will trip if a bulb blows or a fuse goes elsewhere on the circuit and it does happen from time to time but it does just prove that the system is safe.

With regards water pressure, our cold water pressure is fierce and enters the building in excess of 11 bar. We actually have to fit special valves to tame it so that our showers can cope. However, I do accept that if everyone is up and showering at the same time water pressure maybe affected. Our hot water pressure is much more moderate and although it may take a while for a bath to fill, I think forty minutes is a teeny weeny exaggeration, when I've done it before 12 or 13 minutes is the longest it's taken. The good news is that we have two socking big water tanks and we never run out of hot water....

We'd be delighted to welcome you back and don't forget that at ALL times of the year we have special exclusive returning guest discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great place to stay. Can't think of any negatives and would recommend without hesitation! The owners are very attentive and have spent a lot of time and attention to the detail of the decor. The breakfasts are great, the location ideal and the accommodation superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#7 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing