We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Somerville
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$423
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
1,129
32
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,129
32
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitefresh milkevery afternoonlittle touchesroll top baththoughtful toucheshome made cakescomfortable bedfirst classhigh standardbreakfast was amazingsecond to nonelittle gembottled waterwarm welcomefull englisha wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is the very best hotel I stay at. I travel the country with my work and this is my favourite place to stay. Even the most expensive hotels can’t match Adam & Grants attention to detail. Being professional but still offering a warm hospitality is a hard balance to achieve but these guys make it look easy. ALL the rooms are beautifully furnished and have everything you could ask for. I stayed in room number 12 which is stunning! Lounge area great to work from and was great Wi-Fi speed. To relax after working the you can’t go wrong with a tv in lounge area, one in bedroom and one in bathroom!! Breakfast can be summed up in one word, ‘Perfection’. The Somerville is a treat to stay at and is a must if staying in the area…

Room Tip: Number 12 is amazing....
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrycrumbthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed February 2014. The room, hotel, breakfast, location and service were all as good as the reviews suggest.
10 minutes at most to the town centre and a 15 minute drive to other local resorts - Teignmouth, Dawlish, Brixham etc.
We went for a relaxing stay in a quality hotel and we got that and more.
We will definitely return and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Somerville suite - would recommend.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed Friday 22nd feb for two nights, couldn't fault it, fantastic breakfast, nice touches within walking distance of town centre.Lots of bars and restaurants all on your doorstep. We went to Harvester Pub overlooking the bay which was great.

Room Tip: We had standard room which was fine, bathroom a little small.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've been staying here for 3 years on business (not literally). The Somerville is an awesome place to relax and unwind in. Stunning breakfast presentation, superbly well appointed bedrooms, and most importantly the pocket sprung mattresses are extremely comfortable (almost as good as the ones we make!) The hosts aren't bad either. Adam and Grant have taken customer service to a new level, these guys are seriously good, full stop. Extra touches? There's a plentiful supply of home made cookies/cakes for all guests, fresh milk, jelly babies in the room. I've probably forgotten something, which is ironic, because these guys haven't!

Room Tip: Stayed in most rooms, hard to pick a winner as they're all great value for money.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, the breakfast is to die for. Perfect location, walking distance to the harbour. The breakfast is a continental buffet with then a cooked breakfast. The suite we stayed in had it's own living area, en suite bathroom with free standing bath and shower and then the bedroom itself. It was definitely worth the money and the room decor is like staying in a posh hotel in London. The staff go out of their way for you, to show you local attractions, best restaurants etc. They even sent us an email before our arrival of local restaurants so we could pre Book to avoid disappointment. The B and B is very close to the harbour.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmabrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews