We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for one night and couldn't believe the quality of this place. Absolutely brilliant. Had a basic room which was sumptuous and finished to a high standard. Lots of thoughtful details from the owners and there was a friendly welcome. Car parking available on site and the place itself is only a few minutes walk from the harbour. There are lots of restaurants listed at the hotel with details on food, price, atmosphere which helped choosing something in an unfamiliar town.
Breakfast was very good, with lots to choose from. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
798
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

....that hasn't already been said. Great location, 10 minute stroll down a very slight hill to the town centre, B&B has its own private car park, our room (10) was immaculate, tv, wifi (no connection problems) shower, all the extras you would expect. Breakfast in a nice light airy room was delicious, bacon, sausages etc all locally sourced, make sure you try the Bloody Mary Ketchup, very nice! All in all a very pleasant stay for our two days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to our honeymoon destination.
Our room was superb. Luxurious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. We had wonderfully comfortable bed and slept peacefully even though the hotel is on a main road.
For breakfast I had the eggs royale which were AMAZING!! My husband had the full English which he loved. Also there was a fantastic choice of cereals, fruit, preserves and pastries.
The hosts were friendly and helpful and so welcoming. A perfect way to start our honeymoon. We'll definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great guesthouse, great food, great service, we could not have asked for more for a relaxing break. We booked the Somerville suite with a wonderful relaxing bath which really helped us unwind. They gave us great advice on places to eat and places to visit which was really helpful. We will not leave it so long before we return toTorquay as we now have someWhere we can really look forward to staying at. Thank you both for a great stay we wilL be back and we Will be recommending you to others

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 137AndrewW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we will be delighted to welcome you back. Don't forget we have exclusive Returning Guest Discounts which mean that our returning guests pay the lowest rates. Everyone can keep up to date with our latest news via our twitter and face book entries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great place to stay, nothing bad to say, the quality, staff and food are the best! Nothing is too much trouble for the Somerville. If ever i return to Torquay there will only be one place to stay. There is nothing missing from this 5 star rated property!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs. UK.
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a great place to stay and is rapidly becoming one of my favourite small hotels. Everything about it is right, and there is a great deal of attention to detail. The rooms are great, the service is great and the breakfasts are excellent. If you want to stay in a great value small hotel in Torquay - you won't do better than this !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Somerville, the food was out of this world, and our rooms were lovely - the parking was fantastic and ample, and the whole stay was relaxing and most enjoyable. Our hosts were lovely - if thinking of staying here, go for it!!

Really great views from the dining room, easy to find and central to everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGillBrynAethwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing