We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Well Loved B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #9 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Well Loved B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Somerville last week. The rooms were cosy, and lovingly decorated. We really love food, and breakfast was delicious, especially the bacon. The staff were really friendly and kind, and recommended places for us to visit, and amazing local restaurants. I would definitely recommend The Somerville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa8232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
755
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Our third visit in twelve months. The Somerville has it all; charming hosts, excellent location, lovely decor, delicious breakfasts, luxuriously comfy beds and every little amenity one might need. The thoughtful touches even extended to a personalised Mother's Day gift on Sunday. Thank you so much Grant and Adam, we'll be back again soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bookish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

So wonderful to make it back yet again. This is such a super place for self indulgence and to be pampered. Room 12; the garden room is worth treating yourselves to with doors out to a terrace and access to the spacious car park. All the other rooms are of a very high standard too. Fantastic service and the breakfasts are amazing. Wonderful choice, superbly cooked and presented. Thank you all at The Somerville. Hope to get back soon..kindest regards Dave n Paula.

Room Tip: They are all to a high standard. The Garden Suite room12 has a terrace to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Food is amazing, a great continental and a delicious selection of cooked breakfast. Room 7 is a good size with an amazing En-Suite with a high bath and a TV at the end of the bath. Big expensive mirrors, beds and tv's. Extremely comfortable, good temperature and nice and quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for one night and couldn't believe the quality of this place. Absolutely brilliant. Had a basic room which was sumptuous and finished to a high standard. Lots of thoughtful details from the owners and there was a friendly welcome. Car parking available on site and the place itself is only a few minutes walk from the harbour. There are lots of restaurants listed at the hotel with details on food, price, atmosphere which helped choosing something in an unfamiliar town.
Breakfast was very good, with lots to choose from. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo8014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

....that hasn't already been said. Great location, 10 minute stroll down a very slight hill to the town centre, B&B has its own private car park, our room (10) was immaculate, tv, wifi (no connection problems) shower, all the extras you would expect. Breakfast in a nice light airy room was delicious, bacon, sausages etc all locally sourced, make sure you try the Bloody Mary Ketchup, very nice! All in all a very pleasant stay for our two days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to our honeymoon destination.
Our room was superb. Luxurious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. We had wonderfully comfortable bed and slept peacefully even though the hotel is on a main road.
For breakfast I had the eggs royale which were AMAZING!! My husband had the full English which he loved. Also there was a fantastic choice of cereals, fruit, preserves and pastries.
The hosts were friendly and helpful and so welcoming. A perfect way to start our honeymoon. We'll definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing