We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed and breakfast ever!”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #9 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bed and breakfast ever!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The owner of this bed and breakfast is absolutely lovely. The bed was so most comfortable bed I ever slept in. The decor and attention to detail is second to none :) The breakfast is to die for! I would recommend this b&b to everyone and all couples. We were surprised by a delicious gourmet chocolate egg on Easter :) absolutely would come back many times. I felt like a princess :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samanthaparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
788
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but just had to this time.
We booked here on a Friday night really randomly and were not dissapointed.
The staff were friendly and welcoming , helpful attentive and professional. Rooms luxurious and immaculate and sooooo comfortable and romantic. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Really didn't want to leave !!! One night just isn't enough !!!!
Can't fault the place

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stay here regularly and it's great - the staff are so lovely and make us an excellent breakfast. The rooms are really luxurious and always spotless. The owners have given us great restaurant tips too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGThinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This really was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The room was extremely clean, the bathroom bright and modern with an excellent shower. The breakfast each day was just superb with one of the best cold buffets we have ever sampled and when you add the fantastic hot breakfast menu choices the whole package was very good value indeed. We will definitely be going back. Cannot praise it too highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mally451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've stayed at The Somerville a number of times. The hosts always make us so welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The rooms are great and the cooked breakfast is absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent & welcoming stay at The Somerville with my husband & 2 boys. We spent 4 nights here & found it very convenient for walking to the harbour & the restaurants. Beautiful immaculate rooms, comfy bed & loved the extra touches of fresh milk & homemade cakes you could help yourself to anytime & sweets left in the room every day. Superb breakfasts & so much choice nothing was too much trouble very friendly hosts. Thank you for a lovely stay & for the lovely chocolates given to us on departure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kaycockroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Somerville for Easter bank holiday. Everything was wonderful....from the delightful welcome front Grant (with great tips of where to go and where to avoid) to the scrummy breakfasts (the eggs benedict is heavenly) and all the small, attention to detail (such as a lovely Easter egg on Easter Sunday). We stayed in the garden suite which was comfy with a great big bath (and access to patio)

Thankyou for looking after us so well

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franjelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing