We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the BEST”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I were staying at the Somerville from Monday until Friday. The hosts are very helpful and always had a good suggestion on hand for a day out, a nice restaurant etc.
The Breakfast was wonderful, a good variety of fresh fruit, cerial and a gorgeous cooked breakfast with nothing left to wish for. We also enjoyed the complimentary cakes that are offerd daily. All the products used are local or from the area...even the tea serves is grown in England. We really enjoyed our stay and can only recommend this B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived late on friday evening following a long day and four hour journey. Our arrival was carefully catered for and a lovely chilled bottle waiting in the room was easily arranged. The accommodation is elegant and stylish with some lovely touches. There are pretty gardens, easy parking and the whole place has a welcoming ambience. Breakfast was relaxing and the service superb. My girlfriends request for a unique tea she'd never tried before was met with enthusiasm. I am quite fussy with hotels but this is really excellent and friendly. We'd book again in a heartbeat. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stewartc487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the start of our 3 night stay at this guesthouse everything was great....

We had planned trips etc but the staff gave us much better ideas and we had a wonderful time

following their advice......

Perfect is an overused word but not in this case.

Thank you for a fantastic experience.

Ian and Janette

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of a bustling town. Adam was keen to offer advice on where to eat in the evening and what to do during the day. Grant left us wine in a cool casket to savour on our arrival, all we did was change a booking date. Room was spotless, well presented and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was smashing with ample variety for every taste bud, some real quirky little offers that could not be missed. Free cake and cookies available in the lobby area along with fresh chilled milk for tea / coffee, attacked by the wife on our arrival back after a night out ! Do not miss this gem, we will be going back even though it takes us 4 hours one way.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite - well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous rooms, I've stayed in them all! Always made to feel welcome, the owners and staff are superb
Breakfast choice is wonderful ,fresh fruits, fruit cocktails, cereals, cooked breakfasts,served in the conservatory which is light and airy
Fantastic location for walking into Torquay
Nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and the suites are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were only staying in Torquay for 1 night and I am so pleased we chose The Somerville.
Having read reviews, we had high expectations and we weren't disappointed. Adam and Grant are justifiably proud of their hotel, and it shows in the spotlessly clean, beautifully and unusually, furnished rooms. Service is excellent; friendly and efficient, but not over-bearing. The extra touches were appreciated (fresh milk available all day). Breakfast was wonderful and included smoothie shots, fresh fruit salad, rhubarb fools and mini trifles - brilliant idea!!
Thank you so much for a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez99713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay in May - the service was excellent, as we had expected given the reviews on here. Grant and Adam were great hosts and bent over backwards to help guests out. The young lad who helps serve breakfast was excellent and dealt with over guests with dignity and aplomb when they were being a bit fussy! The building itself was beautiful and well maintained and well worth every penny. We enjoyed reading the guest handbook provided in each room - a very honest and humorous guide to staying and where to eat. Just could have done with a pocket sized version to avoid some of the lesser rated restaurants whilst out and about!

The bed was very comfortable and the linen of high quality, but the duvet itself seemed to disappear during the night because it is goose-down, although this is our personal preference and if we had of asked I'm sure Grant or Adam would have provided another type of duvet.

All in all, an excellent stay and we will most certainly be returning on our next Devon/Torquay holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money in 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing