We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have visited the Somerville over the years, and I have to say it just gets better
Cleanliness is superb, stayed in the garden suite and it was superb luxury with ample space
Breakfast is cooked to order and the homemade cakes are to die for
Would highly recommend
5 star quality
Great location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place , never have we stayed in such a clean luxurious B&B, a hidden gem
Right from the start we knew it was going to be special ,from the complementary homemade cakes available to have with you afternoon tea to the show stopping breakfast!

It was simply the best and we will be returning very soon
Thankyou

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Natalie0470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited Torquay for the first time and used Trip Advisor to help choose where to stay. We were not disappointed; the hotel lives up to the reviews. Excellent locations, short walk downhill into the beach front, shops /bars /restaurants.
We stayed in the garden room which had patio doors leading to a small private enclosed courtyard excellent as you could leave the doors open during the night for air. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Far too many extras to mention but you get the impression anything a guest might forget to bring or require would be accommodated. This is a very well run establishment which manages to be small and friendly but offer very high standards.
Breakfast was as previously mentioned by many was exceptional. Quality products, cooked perfectly and the selection of fresh fruit, and natural organic products was a delight.
We will defiantly return if we are lucky enough to be back in Torquay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Sommerville Hotel is gorgeous,the owners have wonderful taste .
We stayed in the garden suite ,plenty of room amazing bathroom and first class housekeeping.
Beautiful private patio area.The breakfast is cooked to order and the innovative buffet makes an interesting change from the norm .Great location for harbour and babbacombe.
We would definitely stay here again.Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the garden room ie access to the garden. The room, the food, the staff were all excellent. Even the hounds of the Baskervilles (Oscar n Hector) were great and came to meet us. Location to town is less than 10 min walk and there's ample and safe parking. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from, even got Grant out in his boat to fetch the kippers..... Can't fault the place, would recommend staying here for short or long breaks. Top tip, don't park car under tree....birds, poo, roof...!!!

Room Tip: Choose garden room, you then can walk out onto patio n garden and sit in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamFromTorquay, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for this lovely review and for the warning about the birdies. I think it must be the time of year, the seagulls are breeding and more in evidence than at other times of the year. But they help make the seaside what it is and the cry of seagulls on a summer day with crystal blue skies is really what a seaside break is all about.

Anyhow, enough about the birds.... thank you for your comments about our new terrace and the tip about the garden Suite. It has really come into its own over the summer and we think it's worth that litle bit extra..... And don't forget we offer discounts for stays in excess of four nights over the summer and discounts for Advanced Purchase bookings too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great room, we had a suite which was amazing, loved the bath, all provided from fridge to hair dryer to hot water bottle, good location, ample parking and lovely, friendly service and staff. Would always return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at this hotel and were very impressed. Although the room was a little on the small side it had all we needed and more. The bed was comfortable and the en-suite a good size with a walk in electric shower. The courtesy soaps and shower gels ect were of a very good quality and there were bath robes provided along with nice large cotton towels. As a nice touch a little jar of jelly beans was provided every day. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cooked and fresh choices. Our hosts were very welcoming and always had a suggestion of restaurants or attractions if required. Parking at the rear of the hotel is good with a gravel surface. The hotel is on a fairly steep hill and a 10/15 minute walk for me from the centre of the town but there are frequent buses with a stop just down from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrior674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing